We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular eating spot in Moeraki.”
Review of Moeraki Tavern

Moeraki Tavern
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Moeraki
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located just 45 minutes drive north of Dunedin and 20 minutes south of Oamaru, Moeraki Tavern offers the perfect place to unwind and take in the beauty that the scenic town of Moeraki has to offer. Relax with uninterrupted ocean views while enjoying some of the classic dishes from our restaurant. Our juicy Ribeye steak, Moeraki seafood chowder and blue cod are all crowd favourites. View our menu to see our full range. Interested in a beverage after a long day of exploring Moeraki? We stock an assortment of local and imported beers, as well as wide range of wines and non-alcoholic drinks. Our tavern is family friendly, offers free Wi-Fi and also sells takeaway alcohol. For great food and harbour views, Moeraki Tavern is the place to be. We look forward to meeting you.
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Standard pub fare on offer with local seafood, especially the Blue Cod being the main attraction - the restaurant, being the only place in Moeraki for meals is quite busy - however, service was quick and efficient.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 332desmondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2023

Got orders wrong. Staff have no customer skills. Poor all round experience. Would not recommend. Far better places in Oamaru at much more reasonable prices and better quality food and service.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Road45349380625
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023 via mobile

Fabulous service and delicious blue cod lunch! Nice view as well. Great little spot to stop on the way to visit boulders for a wine/beer and a bite.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank sandynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2023

Great food, great atmosphere and lovely staff.
Had relaxing lunch sitting outside in the sunshine.
Awesome gluten free blue cod!

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 232vkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2023

Visited with my parents and my two young kids on a Monday afternoon for lunch. Hit a quiet sweet spot just after the lunch rush which was perfect after a visit to the Boulders. Ordered the blue cod, open steak sandwich and the pizza for the kids. All went down very nicely. Had a great range of local alcoholic and non-al drinks up at the bar. Colouring for the kids and a warm fireplace completed a perfect late lunch! Thank you!

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EileentheGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Moeraki Tavern also viewed

 
Hampden, Otago Region
Hampden, Otago Region
 

Been to Moeraki Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.