We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“secluded cottage in close proximity to attractions”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oak Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challock, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
irenesimp...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“secluded cottage in close proximity to attractions”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage was cosy and warm with good amenities. Very clean and quaint. However we did find the shower was a problem, it kept going cold and the water only trickled out, other than that everything was excellent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Irene, thank you for review and for highlighting the problem with the shower, we have had it replaced with a new Mira Sport which has rectified the issue. We hope this did not detract from your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel E
Potton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Very cosy cottage with amazing views. We loved the rural setting and very convenient location for the variuos trips we undertook.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back in future

Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff B
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful Kent Countryside”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We recently stayed in Oak Cottage for a long weekend. The owners are very welcoming and provided comprehensive pre visit directions, help and guidance which made life much easier. The cottage is spacious and comfortable with plenty of room. The facilities were absolutely fine and we were able to cook. The location is ideal set in the Kent countryside with lovely views. It is a good starting point for touring Kent with easy access from Rye right round the coast to Whitstable and the Isle of Sheppey.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Oak cottage.

Do come again

Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you for your kind review of Oak cottage. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet you and your family.
We will look in to the issue with the shower to provide a better alternative

Nigel and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
meepster2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice cottage conveniently located”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and friends have been to a lot of cottages and this one was quite good. Nigel was very efficient in communicating with me via email before our arrival.

Getting there was slightly complex but the directions sent by Nigel really helped. The cottage is located fairly close to good Kent spots. It took us 20 minutes to get to Leeds Castle and 45 minutes to Dover Castle. Canterbury is not far either so the location is really quite nice.

The actual cottage was not quite what we expected from the pictures. For example, the nice rug you see in the living room is not there so it's wood floors and stone in the kitchen area. As it was March it was quite cold and the heating upstairs is good as it;s a radiator but downstairs is not so great as it's an air blowing unit which was noisy...

The kitchen space is very tight so if you're big on cooking you may find it hard. All the appliances were in a good state but the space is very limiting.

The shower was not amazing if we're honest. It's electric which is great but does go cold as you wash so can be an unexpected surprise.

The rooms upstairs are very cosy. The main bedroom is very spacious. Worth noting that the 2nd bedroom goes through the main bedroom which was not 100% clear form the pictures, So people staying in the 2nd bedroom would have to essentially walk through the main one to get downstairs. It was not an issue for us but worth noting.

Nigel was good at greeting us and showing us around. We had a couple of questions which were answered. The surrounding area has some nice walks and there are chickens and ducks and dogs wondering around.

Sadly the view from our window was not as great as we expected but it was due to re innovation work being undertaken to make a nice garden for all your future visitors. There will also be a hot tub soon! Or so we were told...

There is also a small pond which was lovely.

Overall a good stay. We were left to ourselves and it's a nice quiet area.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing