We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We would highly recommend this gem of a cottage...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Fenns

The Fenns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Fenns
The Fenns is the two-storey building on the left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Fenns
The Fenns is the two-storey building on the left
Summer house and outside dining area
The lawn and treehouse
The estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Neston, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Joe_and_S...
Northampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We would highly recommend this gem of a cottage and would definitely return with very fond memories”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent a week at the peaceful Fenns and it was a perfect location for exploring the Wirral, Liverpool and Chester. We instantly felt at home and each room was decorated beautifully, with high quality linen and furniture, it felt like a luxury boutique hotel all to ourselves. Karen was extremely helpful, approachable and made us feel very welcome. The reading nook was one of our favourite places to relax and the enchanting garden was a favourite of our toddlers to run around and explore. We would highly recommend this gem of a cottage and would definitely return with very fond memories. We have even been planning how we could make our house feel a little more like the Fenns!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Reading nook, garden and beautiful quality furniture and decor
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvid_van...
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
“The Fenns is actually as if you are at home”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our whole family (6) stayed in the Fenns for a week. It is a very special place, because of the spaces, greatly furnished, well chosen equipment and personal touches. It is not the average cottage-style house, yet has fine at - home rooms where you can easily stay in for a longer time, very comfortable, quiet and relaxing.

The Fenns is a fine area of GB, and for us, with 4 teenagers, was more than enough to do. Definitely we would like to come back here.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaesheim, France
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Fenns is a beautiful house that was perfect for our 3 night stay. Lots of space both inside and out with lovely kitchen/dining room and lounge area opening onto the large garden, which also has a secluded seating area with table and chairs provided. It was ideal when we invited some family and friends. Also was child friendly with space to play and explore.

Every room is spacious and immaculately presented with so many useful facilities on hand. Great showers, hot water on demand, washing machine and tumble drier, vacuum cleaner, iron/ironing board, Bose Bluetooth mini sound system, Smart TV, range cooker, microwave, dishwasher, ample crockery, glassware and cutlery etc etc. Everything you could possibly need and it all works perfectly.

As we have a toddler, also worth mentioning that doors can be shut downstairs so there is no access to the staircase, but he could still run around the lounge and dining area. So we had no need for a stairgate.

House location is great, with lovely manageable walks to Ness Gardens, Neston and Parkgate. Also well placed for motorway links via M53, M56. Off road parking for up to three cars (with ease) provided.

Karen was a great host and so friendly. I'd recommend this rental to anyone wanting to spend time on the Wirral. Full marks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Silence, such a quiet location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing