We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Waterfront Apartment Youghal”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view
Lounge view from the lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Front view
Lounge
view from the lounge
dining area
kitchen
kitchen
view from breakfast room
bedroom 1 with ensuite
bedroom 2
main bathroom
View up the Blackwater river
Next stop America
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Youghal, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James Dan...
1 review
“Waterfront Apartment Youghal”
Reviewed 30 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We have recently had a lovely three week stay in the Waterfront Apartment in Youghal. The view from the apartment is breathtaking and the apartment was very tastefully decorated and very comfortable.

It is in a great location, short walking distance into the shops in the town and a lovely walk to the beach with some spectacular views on the way.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2018
thanks for that..with an eye to the future, is there anything we should have done to make a 5 bubbles review???
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoiraMcNa...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Return Visit”
Reviewed 19 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Just spent a week back in this great apartment. Have stayed here on many occasions, so relaxing and peaceful.
Never mind the wind and rain outside, was cosy and warm inside looking out. All the days started sunny so having breakfast with sun shining over the water made up for the rain later. Winter or summer it’s a great place to be.
Big thank you to Bill & Brenda the owners & Liz who looks after it. Looking forward to next visit.
Moira (London)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martiniri...
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Base for Southeast Ireland”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Old Monastery was a gorgeous and convenient base for our little family of 4 to tour the southeast of Ireland. This is our 2nd trip as a family (my 4th!) and staying in a home that is, itself, a destination is the only way to see the country. I was a little nervous driving up to the Old Monastery because it is right in the village of Youghal but it could not have been more secure, quiet and peaceful. The pictures do not do justice to the gorgeous views out of every window. The apartment has all of the mod cons you could want. We (I!) cooked for three of our nights there - Youghal has markets, butcher and pubs within walking distance of the apartment. And we ate in Youghal or lovely Ardmore the other nights. Youghal itself has an amazing beach strand right out the back door and the Ardmore beaches are a 10-15 minute drive away. Everything in east Cork and Waterford are within easy driving distance. The apartment itself was so spacious and well appointed. It was nice having 2 full bathrooms with two medium sized kids. Every morning with my pot of tea, and every night with my glass of wine, looking out the back at the majestic Black Water River and the Atlantic. I'll not soon forget our special week at the Old Monastery. Thank you Bill. We hope to get back some day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snapy4
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“elegant well appointed property”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

apartment was spacious and richly furnished. Lots of homely touches and everything in the kitchen you could have needed. Even some crystal glasses! Underfloor heating in bathrooms.Lovely views. Great base to explore Ardmore, Cork, Jameson's distillery, Ballymalloe House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Thanks Pamela...glad you enjoyed our home!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive location but apartment not adequately clean or suited for guests”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment has a delightful view and access onto a lawn that looks out to Monatray House on the opposite bank of the bay. The interior of the apartment expresses a forgotten but evocative early 19th century elegance and history. But the current day splendour is downgraded by the grubby state of some visible areas, the curious plumbing, the shower head that is broken, the dust that has not been removed, the cheap blankets used to cover the sofa. The coat locker is not available and the wardrobe space is limited. There is a patch of internal damp and the property should be better maintained anyway, irrespective of the cost of the rental. Superb potential, but disappointing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed the location, elegance and historic aspect of our apartment – it is indeed an impressive property.

We are however concerned by your criticisms and also surprised that no-one else has raised them. You are of course entitled to an answer so we will do our best to explain and would encourage you and anyone else to raise such concerns at the time of your visit so we can sort things out and ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible, which is always our aim.

What we don’t know we can’t fix.

“Limited wardrobe space”. Visitors have access to three double wardrobes – which we have always thought enough for two guests and indeed for four or a family on a weeks holiday

The “coat locker”, as pointed out in the welcome pack, has a range of coats, umbrellas and welly boots which guests dealing with baggage restrictions are free to use when they have come unprepared for Irish weather. There is still plenty of space for extra coats.

The throws have been added as many families visit and enjoy the apartment and of course accidents do happen. They are mohair, satin and wool and we would have been perfectly happy for you to remove them if it added to the enjoyment of your stay,

The broken shower head was reported by the next guests and fixed on the day. The “curious plumbing” manages to support two dishwasher, a bath and two showers.

The “damp patch” is indeed unfortunate. We are just as upset about it, and are in discussions with the Management Company as the building is their responsibility. We have been advised to mark it and check for spread and NOT to overpaint it.These things take time to resolve but repairs and subsequent redecoration by our own builder are scheduled for the Autumn when things will hopefully be fixed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing