We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay it couldn't have been better”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kitty's Cottage

Kitty's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitty's Cottage
Back of House Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Kitty's Cottage
Back of House
Garden
Lounge
Dining Room
Double Bedroom with en-suite
Double bedroom  with En-Suite
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom with en-suite
Kitchen
Garden Studio
Poppies in Garden
Garden Waterfall
Flower Border in Garden
Owenriff River Oughterard
Connemara Mountains
Connemara Lake
Connemara
Connemara Lake
Oughterard Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oughterard, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Julie B
1 review
“Great place to stay it couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The location and size were perfect for our group of five. It is beautiful and cozy loved the town. Kathleen was so helpful and privacy was no issue. If we are ever lucky enough to go back I would stay there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L
Gosford, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Comfortable house for our three week stay in Oughterard. Ideally located for all Connemara sights. Oughterard village is beautiful with lots of choice for dining out, plus two supermarkets. Kathleen was very welcoming and friendly. Our only concern was that the house needed some general maintenance. The water pressure in the downstairs ensuite was insufficient for a proper shower, requiring us to share the main upstairs bathroom. The wi fi is only avaiable if sitting outside on the back patio area. As the house is advertised with wi fi, we think that it should be available within the house. Other than this we really enjoyed our stay. Thanks Kathleen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property to Oughterard and Connemara attractions
Liked least: General maintenance of property could be better. Wi fi not accessable from inside house.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Kitty's Cottage. Your comments are very much valued.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the beauty of Oughterard and the surrounding areas.
I must apologize for the problem with the low pressure in the downstairs bathroom.
This problem has now been rectified as I have installed a power shower in this bathroom, the same as the power showers in the 2 upstairs en-suites.
Unfortunately the signal for the WiFi was weak in the cottage and only available in the dining room while you were staying.
I have since installed a WiFi range extender which I am happy to say is working very well and the signal is now very strong in all the rooms,
I am sorry this was not the case during your stay.
It was a pleasure to meet you all, thanks again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back at some time in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepy196...
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the very definition of relaxation”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A real home from home, decor and facilities were excellent and Kathleen couldn't be any more helpful. House is only 1 min drive to the village which has 5 pubs within a stones throw and a couple of well stocked shops. If you want the city then Galway is only about 25 mins drive.
Couldn't recommend Kathleen and kitty's cottage highly enough. Well worth 5 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome and an excellent house
Liked least: The roadworks on the way to Galway
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeronikVH
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you're thinking of visiting Connemara - and you should! - this is the cottage you definitely want to stay in. Very charming, spacious, cosy, well equipped and situated in the cute little town of Oughterard. 3 bedrooms, all with their own bathroom and toilet.We arrived on a rainy saturday but after a warm welcome by Kathleen and some delicious home made scones, the weather didn't really bother us at all.
Oughterard is very well situated if you want to see the Connemara area.
We were here for a week and visited Cong and Ashford castle, walked the beautiful white beaches of Mweenish and Dog's Bay. We crossed the beach of Omey Island (check the tides before you go and make sure to be there at low tide). Take the Sky Road in Clifden to get to Omey, it has some really stunning views.
We climbed Lachavrea mountain (make to sure to bring some spare boots, it was pretty muddy), saw Kylemore Abbey. Connemara is by far the most beautiful part of Ireland (We were in Cork, Kerry, Clare, Galway and parts of Limerick), it reminded us of West-Canada at times. Lakes everywhere!
This was a great holiday, both Kitty's cottage and the environment made it unforgettable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of this house
Liked least: The showers were not always very hot.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeronicaH...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with character”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our extended family of 4 adults and 1 child stayed at Kitty's Cottage for two weeks in June. It was a perfect place for our holiday. Kathleen, the owner, was very friendly and accommodating; and she also allowed two additional family members to stay at her B&B next door, which was ideal for our family reunion. The cottage is surrounded by beautiful gardens, so lush and green and full of gorgeous flowers. The house itself is well equipped and we were very comfortable there, both in terms of space and furnishings.. [ If I could suggest one thing, it would be that there should be a couple of shelves added to the downstairs bathroom because the only surface for toiletry storage was the small windowsill.]
Our family enjoyed the location of the cottage, which was only a few minutes walk to the lively village of Oughterard. Our favourite places to eat there included: Powers Pub, Breathnach's Bar, Greenway Cafe, Camp Street Cafe, and the Connemara Lake Hotel. We were amazed that there were so many excellent places to eat in such a small village. I recommend them all.
Also, we had a wonderful trekking experience with the Knockkillaree Riding Centre. Roger, the owner, took us for a 90 minute ride through the hills, which was great fun and we all enjoyed it so much.
Overall, we loved our stay in Oughterard. It is charming and friendly, and we would love to return one day. Now that we are home, thoughts of it constantly pop into our minds and, for me, it's almost like being homesick! We all have very happy memories of both Kitty's Cottage and the village!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing