We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kilkenny hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Teach Carraig

The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Cosy sitting room with wood burning stove & views of the countryside The downstairs bedroom can be configured as a twin or double room as required.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Cosy sitting room with wood burning stove & views of the countryside
The downstairs bedroom can be configured as a twin or double room as required.
The upstairs bathroom has a sumptuous roll top bath.
The upstairs bedroom has a king size sleigh bed.
The kitchen diner is spacious and well equipped.
Woodstock Gardens Inistioge (5 miles away)
Kilfane Glen & Gardens (5 miles away)
Hurling - fast & passionate game Kilkenny is renowned for
Water activities for all the family
Dunbrody Famine Ship, New Ross
Hook Lighthouse, Wexford
Jerpoint Park, Thomastown (5 miles away)
The view from the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thomastown, Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Alastair...
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Kilkenny hideaway”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If a 6-star rating was possible then we would award it to Teach Carraig, Carol and Neal. We spent a delightful 5 days in this splendidly renovated, refurnished, remote cottage. Well, not too remote - although it is 5 miles to the nearest village there are more than enough interesting places to visit within 15 miles, and we enjoyed them all! Thank you Neal and Carol for being such wonderful hosts - you made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We would recommend Teach Carraig therapy to anyone! Alastair and Maureen - Portadown

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen174
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightfully modern well-equipped haven in the countryside.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Teach Carraig was a delight! The location is rural and peaceful, with wonderful views and lovely walks. The cottage itself is bright and modern, equipped with everything we needed. A reliable wi-fi connection pleased our teenagers, and proved useful in planning days out. The owners were incredibly helpful, giving us lots of ideas of things to do and making our holiday so enjoyable. There is a wealth of things to do in the surrounding area - Kilkenny, Waterford, Tramore, Inistioge, Woodstock Gardens were amongst the visits we enjoyed. Thomastown has supermarkets, as well as a good variety of cafes, craft/gallery, speciality shops (including a gourmet chocolate shop!).
We would not hesitate in recommending this property, and do hope to return for another stay in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was ideal, it's impossible to pick just one thing.
Liked least: We have nothing negative to say about it.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidja
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is fully equipped and very comfortably furnished. We could not resist lighting the fire. The smell of peat is wonderful. Mojo the family dog was a great favourite and spent a lot of time on our doorstep. Hosts Carol and Neil are very friendly and welcoming. Very happy with our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities and the dog
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andimom
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“FANTABULOUS”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

If you follow the directions to the house... you will find it... It's out in the country which is what we wanted... The house itself is fantastic... such sweet people and they live right there so if you need help, advice or directions... they had firewood cut so that we could have a cozy evening... It was our favorite place in our whole visit to Ireland.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcbannon
derby, kansas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Peaceful cozy setting”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Super clean, modern inside with beautiful old stone detailing outside. Very picturesque.
A bit outside city, but so calm and quiet. Kitchen is dream to work in or places to eat in town.
If you are a couple and steps are an issue the bedroom on main floor would work well for you.
We had a cozy fire last night and looked at the stars. Carol and Neil are very helpful in places to go, get around, even loaned us milk.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing