We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding Venue”

Carrig Country House & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 27 Restaurants in Killorglin
Price range: US$5 - US$68
Cuisines: Irish
Description: Carrig's Lakeside Restaurant where a wonderful dining experience awaits you. You will choose from a varied & interesting dinner menu. The restaurant brings you the best Kerry has to offer, meat and vegetables are sourced locally and fresh fish caught in the nearby Atlantic Ocean. Tastes are creatively blended and dishes delicately cooked with care, to excite your palate and provide a memorable dining experience. Our culinary team are highly skilled crafts-people who have won many awards and the restaurant has been critically acclaimed internationally. The cooking style is modern Irish and European with a French Country House influence.
Restaurant details
Description: Carrig's Lakeside Restaurant where a wonderful dining experience awaits you. You will choose from a varied & interesting dinner menu. The restaurant brings you the best Kerry has to offer, meat and vegetables are sourced locally and fresh fish caught in the nearby Atlantic Ocean. Tastes are creatively blended and dishes delicately cooked with care, to excite your palate and provide a memorable dining experience. Our culinary team are highly skilled crafts-people who have won many awards and the restaurant has been critically acclaimed internationally. The cooking style is modern Irish and European with a French Country House influence.
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We celebrated our Spring marriage at Carrig House. It was perfect. The food and hospitality were excellent. Our hosts Frank and his daughter Clare and their staff were so well organised and helpful that it made the day stress free and run extremely smoothly. In addition the setting with the lake and mountains make this a world class venue. Highly recommended.
Katherine & Kevin

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank katherine284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

We had dinner for two nights at the Country House and both were excellent. The duck breast with the cherries sauce and the creamy mushroom soup were out of this world. Don't forget to save room for dessert - the creme brulee was my favorite. Don't miss the restaurant to end a perfect journey day around the Ring of Kerry!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We stayed one night with our dinner and breakfast included. We were welcomed once we arrived and told to relax in the drawing room beside the fire and they offered to bring in our bags. The atmosphere there is extremely relaxing. After a while in the drawing room we then went to our room and were blown away by the views of the lake. One of the best hotel rooms we've ever gotten.
We enjoyed the way they organised the dinner service, taking our order by the fire.
The whole meal experience was superb.
This hotel was a real treat and we hope to get back there some time soon.
Highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DinMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Carrig has always been one of my favourite restaurants, but I was a bit disappointed with our recent experience. It was our anniversary, so we decided to hire a babysitter and travel to Killorglin as a special treat. We did order what took our fancy, eventhough it was quite expensive. A good 3 course early bird meal in our area costs around €32 as reference and we did arrive early. Our entrees here were €14 and €13, while our mains were €32 and €30, with deserts priced at €9.50 each. We did order a side dish of fries, which I wouldn't mind paying a little extra for - but when the bill came, an additional €8 was added on for veg, potatoes and fries. The waitress had arrived to the table with some veg (carrots and cauliflower) and some fries. She asked would we like potatoes as well but we had said no thank you. I told the hostess that we had just had fries and veg, to which she offered a €1 discount! When paying €32 for a main course, I'd expect some veg to be included with that, without having to pay extras. Along with babysitting fees, it made it quite an expensive night out. I think the extra €8 on the bill was too much for sides - and then only offering a €1 discount was a bit short on the mark when we didnt even have potatoes! Apart from that, the setting is beautiful and the food was good.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank UnaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

On our arrival we were shown into the sitting room and asked if we wished to have a drink. Menus were given and told orders would be taken when we were ready. Staff were friendly and welcoming. When our starter was ready we were shown into a lovely dining room with a most beautiful view of the lake. Starters of chowder and seafood tasting were excellent. Mains of medium rare beef and rack of lamb were well presented and accompanied by potatoes and veg. We were delighted we had dined here. Just an extra , halfway through our meal a table with a nicer view of the lake became available and the waitress offered to transfer our food to that table, We declined but a nice touch.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carrig Country House & Restaurant also viewed

 
Killorglin, County Kerry
Killorglin, County Kerry
 

Been to Carrig Country House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing