We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$210
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$117
US$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$210
US$204
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$521
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
145
45
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
45
10
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspeckled doorocean viewfilled with localscliff topnice pubpink elephantfantastic hostskinsale areashort driveirish breakfastgood sizecomfortable staycomfortable bedbreakfast roomthree nightsfishy fishylovely view
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Mary was hilarious and a mine of information about all things Irish. The room was comfortable and we viewed gorgeous sunsets on two of the three nights we stayed. On the third we couldn’t see a thing due to howling gales. Breakfast consisted of cereals, fruit, juices, tea and coffee and a choice of cooked fare. It was easy to drive around the Kinsale area from the BnB.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MacLachlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebluehorizon, Owner at The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review , delighted you got to see the sunset despite the gale force wind, " great to be beside the seaside!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel sea views and customer service outstanding would definately recommend a visit to this place. Stayed for 2 nights with an outstanding sea view room with ensuite. Room was big and comfortable bed with all usual facilities.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Stayed at Blue Horizon for 2 nights. It is situated 7 miles out of kinsale. The location is beautiful. Sea views everywhere. Mary was very pleasant and helpful. A hot and cold breakfast was provided. We were disappointed with our room. It was a good size but in need of cleaning. The carpets were quite stained. The shower worked well but the shower curtain blew at you all the time, too narrow a tub. Sheets were good quality but duvet looked tired. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P8965JOdeborahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebluehorizon, Owner at The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we love the ocean view location of our home which we enjoy sharing with our guests. We would have gladly exchanged your room if you had made us aware that is was not to your requirements. I will take note of your issues and I hope you enjoyed the beautiful sunrise and the moon beam over the ocean while you were here.
kind regards Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Mary was very helpful when we called in advance of our trip. We extended our stay the bed & breakfast was so nice and the area/views fantastic. 7 km from Kinsale but we loved it. Breakfast was cooked to order and very good. Large, clean, well appointed room. An enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Our room had a small patio with table and bench--lovely for viewing the ocean. Recommend without hesitation.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeleahy4672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

My husband and I stayed at Blue Horizon back in 2011, and again in August 2017 on a trip with my parents. I can't say enough great things about this place:
1. The location is excellent, being only a short drive from Kinsale but outside of the hustle and bustle of the city. It also has STUNNING views of the ocean and the beach is just a short 5 minute walk.
2. Jimmy and Mary are two of the kindest, most welcoming people we have had the pleasure to meet. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with them and spending time in their company.
3. The rooms are everything you need - a comfortable bed, a couch & desk and a spacious bathroom.
4. Breakfast was fantastic and there were a variety of options to pick from.

Should I be so lucky to visit Ireland a third time, The Blue Horizon will definitely be back on my list of places to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejonesy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebluehorizon, Owner at The Blue Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review and it was lovely meeting you both again and thanks for remembering our home by the sea.
kind regards MAry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews