We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely,peaceful,family friendly setting”
other travellers have booked this property
The Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kinsale, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Erins-Isl...
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Would not recommend staying in Winter”
Reviewed 21 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I booked this cottage for one week during November and were very disappointed with the accommodation.

On our arrival at the cottage, we had to phone the manager to inform him of our arrival and were more than surprised when he came to greet us wearing no shoes. He showed us around the cottage and explained about the heating adding that we could light the stove, and if needed, we could get more firewood from outside under the stairway. He had obviously forgotten that at the time of booking, we explained to him that we could not use the stove due to the fact that I suffered from emphysema and the dust when cleaning the stove would cause breathing problems for me. He must also have failed to notice that that we are an elderly couple and hauling firewood up a wet slippery stariway and across a decking which was lethal to walk on during our stay, could be quite dangerous. We were told that the heaters were on in the downstairs hallway and the upstairs open plan kitchen, dining and kitchen areas and if needed, we could switch on the boosters. This we did, but it had very little effect as the house was so cold.

Later in the evening, we went out with some family members and on our return, my husband checked the bedrooms and discovered that the heater hadn't been switched on and the rooms were cold. He switched the heaters and the boosters on but even after a couple of hours, the rooms were still cold. When we retired for the night, the bedclothes felt cold and damp and despite leaving the heat on all night, we woke up shivering with the cold. I would also like to add that the sheets on the beds were very flimsy and had not been ironed, which didn't impress me. When I went into the bathroom, I discovered long black hairs in the wc and there were some more on the little shelf above it. There were two brown towels in one bathroom and there was none in the second bathroom. Fortunately we had brought our own supply of towels, and toilet rolls, as these were in short supply also.

Next morning, after a cold and restless night, we went upstairs to make coffee before going out to breakfast but the kettle was so dirty we couldn't use it. I can understand discolouration due to mineral content in the water but this was plain dirty both inside and outside. After retrieving our own kettle from the boot of our car, we sat down to have a hot drink only to find that the flowers which looked so nice on the table had spiders crawling from them. My husband removed the offending flowers and in doing so, discovered a mouse dropping on the table.

Due to the fact that we were in Cork on business and would be spending very little time in the cottage, we decided to suffer it our for the remainder of the week. However, both my husband and I caught bad colds during the week and by the sixth day, just as the house was beginning to warm up, we were so ill and miserable that we had to leave for home.

On our departure, my husband handed the keys to a lady, whom he assumed to be the managers wife, and told her we were leaving to go home. She didn't question the reason for our early departure nor did she ask if everything had been to our satisfaction.

We didn't complain during our stay as we feel that everything should have been as guests would expect it to be prior to their arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2013
We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Copper Beech Farm. We tell all our guests on arrival to let us know if they have any complaints or problems with the cottages. Any issues which arise are dealt with immediately.
Unfortunately we did not hear of any of your complaints until we read them on you review, so we did not get an opportunity to deal with any of them. Had we been told we would have sorted out these complaints and you might have enjoyed your stay.
We take great pride in the quality of accommodation we provide which can be seen on all our other reviews. These reviews speak for themselves and tell the true experience of staying at Copper Beech Farm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chance for the kids to play freely outside and appreciate farm life
Liked least: The blind above the top bunk in the kids room was difficult to fully close.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jan 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us your review. We are glad you all enjoyed your stay at Copper Beech Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dublin
Reviewed 15 December 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jan 2013
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 11 December 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quality and location of property and the helpfulness of the owners
Liked least: Having to use the key to lock the front door from the inside
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jan 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you and sharing our farm with you. We look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The fresh eggs & fresh milk :)
Liked least: The bedrooms being downstairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jan 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday at Copper Beech Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing