We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great funky house and location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Compass Hill House

The front of Compass Hill House seen from the Mall.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Compass Hill House seen from the Mall.
The entrance hall. The first floor living room in the day-time.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The front of Compass Hill House seen from the Mall.
The entrance hall.
The first floor living room in the day-time.
The pink Garden Bedroom (triple) ideal for kids.
Garden view from the pink room.
Old world kitchen: up-to-date living.
The first floor living room in the evening.
A collection of shells.
The bright, airy landing looking at yellow room.
The short corridor outside the twin bedroom.
The Ground Floor sitting room.
Late May in the garden seen from the BBQ area.
Early June in the garden with Laburnum in full bloom.
Compass Hill House at the top of St John's Hill.
A view over the harbour from in front of the house.
Harbour view from the living room.
A view from Summercove out to sea.
Harvest time around Kinsale.
Miaow! Find Leo in the Garden...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Kinsale, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
eurodc
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great funky house and location”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed in Compass Hill House last week as a base for our sailing crew for regatta. The house is charming and really well located within short walking distance of the yacht club and town centre. It does swallow up a large number and had all the facilities we needed to make a great week. Its not the Four Seasons but if you like the charm of a cosy well located house with fantastic views - this is for you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you for such nice words, David. You are absolutely right: it ain't the Four Seasons, and we're happy about it too. You are welcome to return anytime. And you can avail of the 10 % discount for returning guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmade...
Solomons, Maryland
1 review
“The Visit of a Lifetime!”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We loved every moment of our stay atop Compass Hill. The house is beautiful and the courtyard is so welcoming. We are a family of young adults and two toddlers, and my wife and I, two grayer grandparents. The house was so nice for us. The upstairs parlor has a breathtaking views of Kinsale's harbor, as do the bedrooms. There are fun bricked passages leading down the hill to the nice shops and restaurants which takes only 10 minutes. It is hard to narrow down the highlights, but you feel at home, interesting books and art work in every room. Such a kind town, a 13 year old neighbor serenaded our birthday girl. Thank you Marie-Louise and Marcus! Your home embodies Kinsale's spirit, a highest compliment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
What an absolute thrill to read! Thank you so much for appreciating all we have done to make the house a specail place to stay. You are, of course, welcome to return any time you like. Warmest regards - ML & M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thanks Conor! Congratulations on winning the IRC White Sails Cat 2 in this year's Sovereign's Cup.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2dman2016
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Christmas at Campus Hill House”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a fabulous stay for a week over Christmas. The house was perfect for our family and to host Christmas with our extended family. We loved the character and the large rooms which were all in very good order especially considering the age. The location is also fantastic with views over the harbour and just a short walk to the picturesque town and the numerous pubs and restaurants. We partially enjoyed walking along Scilly walk to Charles Fort and lucky that we had a number of sunny days. We would also like to thank Marie-Louise and Marcus for putting up the Christmas decorations and tree and the yummy gifts !

We managed to keep the house warm with the wood burner and the heaters in the bedrooms however we would recommend that when guests are arriving late to have some one come in and warm the place up a little in the winter as it was very cold when we arrived.

We would highly recommend his house and hope to stay again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2016
Thank you all for such a nice review. We want all our guests to have a nice stay in the house we love so well ourselves. You would, of course, be welcome to return, and to offer you a little incentive, we would be pleased to discount any price you see advertised (for dates you select) by reducing it 10%

Have a pleaseant and prosperous new year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mairgall
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Charming house with spectacular views & all mod cons”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

When we arrived we couldn’t believe the space on offer. On the ground floor there’s a full kitchen, double bedroom, sitting room and bathroom.
On the next floor we found another double bedroom, a bathroom with bath and shower, an even bigger kitchen, a bigger sitting room with the most amazing bay window which looks out over Kinsale Harbour. Both adults and children alike loved to just sit and watch the comings and goings of the harbour, its such a beautiful setting, even in the dark of night. The sitting room also has a real fire which we didn’t use as the house was comfortable without any heating while we were there, but on a winter’s night it would make for a beautiful cosy room.
On the third floor there is a double room with a baby cot, a twin bedroom with lots of space if you needed extra travel cots etc, and a triple bedroom which is really quaint. There is also a bathroom with shower.

Basically two full families could easily share this house, having their own kitchen, living room, bedrooms and bathroom, and then if they choose to relax together in the evenings, the upstairs sitting room/kitchen would be big enough to allow everyone to come together.

The children had a ball, there are so many rooms in the house that its like hide and seek heaven! The garden is also fab, with a big old tree in the middle which is perfect for playing tig around. There’s a BBQ in the garden (large) which we didn’t use, but we did sit outside and enjoy the quietness of the enclosed garden. The children loved the fact that there’s a couple of apple trees etc which they were able to explore. The steps are a little steep, so that was the only rule we had to make for the children was that there’s no running on steps.

The house oozes charm and cosiness. Every room offers unique beauty which is complemented by amazing photography, pieces of art and paintings. The beds have fluffy duvets alongside beautiful bedspreads, antique woven mats etc.

Parking is readily available right outside the front door, and there is also free parking about 30 steps away from the front door in a little parking lott which we always got a space in without any difficulty.

The booking and dealings with the owners ran smoothly. Keys were ready as planned when we arrived, gardener worked away without interrupting us, the bins were even put out for us.

We will definitely return to Compass Hill House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charm of the house and the views from bay window
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
...and you'd be very welcome to return too! What a glowing review; thanks. You'll get the 10% reduction for return visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing