We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Gorgeous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Compass Hill House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Kinsale, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

JimSavage...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Absolutely Gorgeous”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in September 2013

It's rather difficult to review perfection without it sounding implausible but truly Compass Hill House is an absolute gem.
Sitting atop the unbelievably charming town of Kinsale it cuts an imposingly elegant figure. The view alone from its'
front door to the Historic Town hall across the street, on down to the manicured Bowling Green above the renowned Kinsale Yacht Club is almost enough of a reason to stay until crossing the threshold one is whisked into a world of classic comfort. A ground floor apartment with a double bedroom, living room with fireplace, a large eat in kitchen and comfortable full bathroom was absolutely perfect for my elderly parents who like to spend quieter time in the evenings. A parking space directly in front eased any luggage or shopping needs. Upstairs a second large eat in kitchen with every necessity for large scale dining and exit to the large rear garden with BBQ is a delight. Adjacent a huge formal living room again with fireplace, plus TV and an iPhone music dock is the essence of comfort with beautiful period furniture, artwork and view of sail filled Kinsale harbor through its quintessential bay window is perfect for leisurely afternoons, evening cocktails or a night in front of the fire watching a dvd. Plenty of traditional board games will keep kids amused far from the maddening web although wifi is available.The house is old, late 1700s, but beautifully maintained, light and airy, and not lacking in any creature comforts including heaters in each of the bedrooms and further two bathrooms that pepper the top two floors. Our hosts though we never met were beyond gracious by phone and email and helpful in their recommendations for dining around Kinsale town, true to it's title of Irelands Gastronomic Capital. Whether it's lounging by the bay window or basking in adirondack style chairs in the sun filled apple treed garden, whether taking the tourist trail to the multitude of nearby historical sites or just going off for a morning stroll along beautiful walks directly adjacent is a marvelous respite and perfect base for friends and family to really appreciate any time one should spend there. Being half an hour from Cork city with reasonable bus service ensures you're never at a loss for things to do even if the weather is unaccommodating. Would we recommend it to our dearest friends and would we be pleased to return there again? A very emphatic Yes!

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
Thanks for the glowing review! Thank you too for adding in those three charming pictures for other tripadvisors to see - we couldn't have done better ourselves. It was a real pleasure to see the wedding dress laid out on the bed too! Tanti auguri a voi....

Marie-Louise & Marcus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuhulain
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a superb location”
Reviewed 23 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The house and location surpassed even our expectations which were already quite high after visiting the house website. The house is huge with a bay window with an uninterrupted view of Kinsale harbour. Two of the bedrooms also have plunging views. Watching the full moon rise above the harbour in the evening with a turf fire in the fireplace was unforgettable. There is ample room (two sitting rooms!) so that you don't feel cramped - we were eight and I think we could have fitted in another two people comfortably. A garden at the back provides a great place to eat outside, especially as there is a barbeque for cooking the delicious lobsters available at the local fish shop, or even your own fish. There are loads of things to do - leaving aside the renowned gourmet restaurants and authentic Irish bars - such as fishing for pollack on a boat at Kinsale ahead, horse riding, and beautiful walks out towards Silly and Sandycove. In fact we were so taken by the whole experience, we are thinking of buying a house there in the coming year or so when my son moves to Ireland to complete his education and as a place to stay a few months of the year when my wife retires. If you like Ireland and you want something way above the quality of your usual rented house, then this is the pace to go.

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: no internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2011
Patrick and his family were welcome guests. They made the best use of the house by spending a fortnight there. When I was younger, my mother and I used to decamp from Dublin to Kinsale for the entire summer, and it is only when you settle into a place that you really appreciate its charm. Thanks Patrick for the review, and best of lucky in your search for your own place...
ML
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.