We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
115
67
11
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
67
11
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teach beag all day breakfast family run hotel trad session lovely old hotel historic atmosphere pearse street tuesday night bay window stayed here for four nights great central location hotel parking small balcony irish family home from home irish music lick of paint
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Very nice hotel warm and friendly reception . bedroom a good size with a balcony over looking spillers lane bed was comfortable and bathroom well equipped . we had bed and breakfast and the breakfast was enough to keep you going all day lovely food and well cooked I would recommend this hotel to any body requiring a centrally located hotel

Room Tip: second floor
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gunnerh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights with other members of family. It's a quaint old hotel, with an interesting history . There were sofas by the lifts on each floor, bookcases full of books and other little knick knacks in the corridors giving it a homely feel. I stayed in one of the balcony rooms. It was very spacious and clean with a good sized bathroom complete with bath- perfect for soaking in after a day of exploring. The breakfast is excellent, the cooked option is fantastic, no grease just full of flavour. Looked forward to it each morning. The hotel itself is well situated in the town on the main street. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful.
Would also recommend a visit to the pub behind the hotel An teach beag for some good irish music. Clonakility itself is a lovely place to explore, and look forward to coming back here again and to the hotel.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank 991lucyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

I am writing this on behalf of my mother. While my mother was in the ladies toilets in the O'Donovan Hotel Clonakilty, the door opened and a lady in a wheelchair was shown in to use the main ladies toilets that wasn't fit for purpose in the sense that there was not enough room for the wheelchair to maneuver. My mother tried to help this elderly lady as she was visiblely frustrated and very upset. The lady had to actually get out of the wheelchair and fold it up which caused the her pain and suffering, the lady asked my mother to leave as she said she would manage and ask someone else when she finished. My mother thought this absolute disgrace that there was no wheelchair accessible bathroom for use.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ciangal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenaOD, Owner at O'Donovan's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

We were amazed to read your negative review of our customer toilets. Nobody came to reception to ask for assistance. !!!! We were not aware that there was a lady in distress in the toilet area.
We provide a clean, safe environment, in our toilet area, with hot and cold water, regularly replenished toiletries and regularly cleaned......... and hand towels, hand driers, baby change facilities, wheelchair toilets (which are of an acceptable dimension for the local wheelchair association who use our facilities regularly) ... and we are open 18 hours a day with no charge. Our hotel being a 250 year old listed historic building, space is at a premium. Our customer toilets are used daily by customers and non customers with about 10-15 of them being wheelchair users which is why we are so alarmed to see your very disappointing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Stayed one night in Clonakilty and was absolutely enthralled by O'Donovan's hotel. Stay was warm and friendly. It felt exactly like a small hotel in a quaint Irish village should be. The welcome on our arrival was well organized and smooth. The front desk star did everything to make our stay special. The hall and rooms were decorated with historical prints and documents that added to the historic atmosphere. A delightful place to stay. We'd definitely return.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenaOD, Owner at O'Donovan's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Gosh... thanks indeed for your kind review. sometimes people say that it's a bit dated but it's an authentically two and a half century old business and now starting on the seventh generation, with the same O'Donovan family.... We like to keep some of the old traditional feel about the place and I'm glad you liked it and enjoyed your stay with us. It makes us glad that we didn't become like the glass and chrome modern hotels that all look the same in every country !!!! Thanks and we hope to see you again in the near future !! Dena O'Donovan Hotel Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Just back from one night stay, well what can I say it was fabulous, hotel itself old but lovely the way it was, great history about hotel, staff was wonderful to us,room was spotless,food was beautiful, night club was unreal, would highly recommend this hotel for couples who wants good night out, really enjoyed everything about this hotel. Looking forward to a night again soon

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank anitaosullivan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenaOD, Owner at O'Donovan's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Anita thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here.
We cant wait to welcome you back

Craig
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews