We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Park South Cottage

Park South Cottage with its mature gardens - a perfect retreat in the heart of the countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Park South Cottage with its mature gardens - a perfect retreat in the heart of the countryside
Beautiful countryside views - cows grazing with the backdrop of Nagle View mountains Make yourself at home - Home away from Home!!!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Park South Cottage with its mature gardens - a perfect retreat in the heart of the countryside
Beautiful countryside views - cows grazing with the backdrop of Nagle View mountains
Make yourself at home - Home away from Home!!!
Bedroom with en-suite bathroom and garden view
en-suite bathroom
Home Baking awaits you on arrival
Home is where the hearth is - a cosy sitting room to relax in
View from the sun porch as sit enjoying a cup of coffee!!
Bedroom with views of the countryside
Main Bathroom with a bathtub to soak in after a long days sightseeing
A friendly neighbour might come to say hello during you visit!!
Park South Holiday Home - A perfect cottage in the country
Plenty of secure parking space
Mature gardens with beautiful colours all year round
Country Kitchen - great place to chat and plan the nexts day tour
Wildlife in the local Doneraile Forest Park
Mountain Bike trail in the Ballyhoura region - one of the largest in Europe
Deer roaming in Doneraile Forest park
Donkey sanctuary nearby
Nano Nagle Cente
Doneraile Forest Park
Bedroom with en-suite bathroom with great country views
en-suite bathroom
Park South Cottage with its mature gardens - a perfect retreat from city life
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mallow, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
155hunt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had an Excellent stay, the house was warm and homely with spectacular views from the sun room where we relaxed in comfort. The utilities were fairly priced and we used all appliances so we were not expecting such a low bill. We read the meter ourselves. The house was fully equipped, my daughter even baked to perfection. The beds were so comfortable we slept sound from the very first night, and we are fussy when it comes to beds. Loved the power showers, want to install one in my own house now. The kitchen and main bathroom was huge, I hated leaving such a well designed house, everything was so easy to find, and generous with household items you would not normally find in a summer rental. Our real fire was supplied with rustic wood logs that was such a delight to relax in the evenings. I can't say I have ever stayed anywhere better, I did not want to leave. Highly recommend this property to feel that home away from home feeling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnW2656
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not happy!!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Booked to stay in the house for aweek but luckly i had family around so i could stay with them .. the house was always cold..the road out the front of house was busy so didnt get much sleep with the noise and then she had the cheek to charge me 65 for electric and gas!!!!! And i stayed only two nights which i thought was ridiculous!!!! So if your staying there bring heated blankets ear plugs and a genurator!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin S
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Property”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I with our two teenage children stayed at this property in the middle of July for four nights. We arrived very late on our first night and upon arrival were met by the owner Eva who was extremely friendly and helpful. Eva left us some home baking and home made jams which was very welcome after our long journey from Belfast. The house met all our needs and we were very comfortable.
The house is in a lovely quiet country location with fabulous views and close to all motorways for sightseeing in the Cork area. When we left Eva gave us some of her lovely home made jam for the journey home. We found this property great value for money and had no issues about the utility charges. Eva we will be back.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anacapri9
norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had very good communication with the owner Eva as this was our first visit to Ireland ,she gave excellent directions to the cottage and we found it very easily.When we arrived it looked a lovely cottage with views to the front of fields and hills,to the back is a very big lawn which was lovely for watching rabbits at night and in the morning the gardens are well landscapped with a good size drive for turning in.Eva let us into the cottage and the first impressions were that a good hoover was needed the hallway was messy and both the lounge area and bedroom had bits on the floor, later on closer inspection there were cobwebs on the door leading to the green bedroom, the seals were coming off the window , there was a lot of dust on the shelves near the tv and dust on a lot of the furniture.
The sofa and chairs were so worn the fabric had split. The bed in the green room was so hard it was like sleeping on a wooden door after one night we slept in the pink room the bed was marginally better.We had a problem and the tv would not work so we had to go to eva who sent her daughter to fix it which she did but she said she was doing the tv nearly every week but you would think they would check that it was working before guests arrive.there were a lot of draughts from the windows and none of the inner doors fitted properly.
The best room is the kitchen it has everything you need fridge, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine there is a lovely view of the back garden with all the rabbits.Eva had very kindly left jam,scones and a apple pie.the cottage is well situated to see the lower part of Ireland there is a little supermarket in the village only 7 mins by car there is also a very nice park there with deer and lakes.
When I booked the cottage I knew we were going to pay for the electric and oil we used,we had the heat on for about two hours at night and sometimes one hour in the morning but not always ,it did not get dark till 9pm when we put a light on and we went to bed at 11pm we used the oven about three times as we ate out mostly.We never used the dishwasher or washing machine .Eva never should us the meter and when we left she said we owed 104 euros or call it a round 100 e which worked out about £80 we actually spoke to irish couple on the ferry and there exact words were that we had been ripped off ,they said it should have been more like 35-40 euros ,I suppose the answer is to rent where everything is included,My real surprise is that the property had such good feedback perhaps we were just unlucky.

380

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We appreciate your kind words on our central location, home baking, countryside views and the garden we also love. However, we are saddened to hear your comments about the cottage cleanliness and utility usage. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has been our focus since setting up our family business 35 years ago. We are truly sorry you felt differently and would therefore like to apologise.

Thanks to your feedback, we have improved our utility usage procedure so that in future guests will have access to both the electric and oil meter during their stay so that they can monitor usage and have full confidence in the supplementary cost.

We hope you might think about giving us another chance and returning to our cottage in the future.

Best Wishes,

Eva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug-and...
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We would have liked to stay longer if our schedule allowed it.”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Ireland in search of my wife's ancestors especially Nano Nagle.
My pre-travel research paid off with the best place to stay at Eva's . Eva was most accommodating for all of our needs without hesitation. I enjoyed the peace and quiet of
being out in the country but with closeness by car to everyplace we wanted to visit. There is a lot to see and do. Amongst many choices don't neglect going to close-by Doneraile Park. We drove to Mallow and took the train to Cork City and Cobh on different days. Driving included out to Kinsale, Kilarney City and National Park. We hope to have a return visit to South Park.
.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing