We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Getaway Cottage on the Southwest Coast”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Seal Rock Cottage

View from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the garden
View from the cottage Master Bedroom (please note that there is no longer a TV in this room)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
View from the garden
View from the cottage
Master Bedroom (please note that there is no longer a TV in this room)
Real fire
The cottage
Garden Room
Dining and Kitchen
The house
Sitting Room
Guest Bedroom
En Suite Bathroom
Seals resting
Seal watching
Sitting room
Sunset
Down to the beach
Rear terrace
Evening at the waterside terrace (please note that the kayaks were loaned for this photo)
Double rainbow over the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
guynxtdr2...
Reston, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway Cottage on the Southwest Coast”
Reviewed 27 March 2012 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We were looking for an intimate self-catering cottage for several nights from which to explore the southwest coast, and found it at Seal Rock. The Owners have proudly furnished Seal Rock as a very nice vacation house, with all the amenities anyone could ask for. The view of the water each morning was a treat. The drive into Kenmare is about 15 minutes, so you can stock-up and cook at home, or go into town for dinner. THis is a great place to say if you want to spend a few days "living" in Ireland, not just visiting the way most tourists do. It's rural and secluded, but comfortable, and scenic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pesa30
Monheim am Rhein, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Yes, there was a lamp high up on the wall which did have a very small and fine cobweb but this was invisible in daylight and therefore was not spotted by the cleaner at the time of cleaning. We completely refute the allegation that the house in general was unclean. This guest has taken a small issue of one cobweb and slightly discoloured mastic in one of the showers and exaggerated minor blemishes into an overall accusation of an unclean house. This is completely untrue as testified by the many guests who have stayed in the cottage over the past 10 years. And we suggest that anybody considering renting Seal Rock Cottage should just look at the majority of reviewers who give us outstanding ratings not only for cleanliness but for the general standard of style and quality of furnishings and facilities as well as an incomparable location. Also look at our Facebook page and see the fantastic verbatim comments in our guest book. Jane Madigan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne...
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
I was very disappointed to hear that our usual high standards of cleanliness were not met during your recent stay at Seal Rock Cottage and I apologise if it caused you any inconvenience. After receiving your email and accompanying photographs I discovered that our usual (excellent) cleaner had been on holiday that week and a different cleaner had carried out the changeover clean and certain minor things were obviously overlooked. I would challenge the fact that you said the bathroom sinks were dirty; we explain to all guests that, due to our remote location, all our water comes from a private well and so can sometimes leave a slight brown staining on the sinks and toilets but they are perfectly clean.I am rather puzzled by your comment about the bed and mattress. Our beds are Hypnos divan beds - one of the best makes of bed available and all our bed linen is top quality, very high thread count Egyptian cotton. You can see from our other reviews that previous guests have commented on how comfortable the beds are. I was glad to read in your email that despite these small issues, you had a marvellous holiday at Seal Rock Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$259
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing