We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Kilkeana Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kilkeana Farmhouse
Sitting Room with woodburning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Kilkeana Farmhouse
Sitting Room with woodburning stove
The Kitchen/Dining Room
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Entrance
Hill Walking on the Farm
Fushia grow wild on the Farm
Sunset from Kenmare Pier
The Ring of Kerry Golf & Country Club
Sheep & Lambs on the Farm
Kenmare Golf Club
Market Day in Kenmare
Sefari at Kenmare Pier
Kenmare Town
Seals in Kenmare Bay
Blackvalley Lake
Winter in the Blackvalley with snow on the Magillacuddy Reeks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
emer641
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is our second time staying in Kilkeana farm house. We also stay last summer and enjoyed it so much we just had to return. If you are looking for peace and quiet look no further. We have three young children aged 3, 5 and seven so we also wanted somewhere safe. James and mary were so helpful, with lovely homemade scones on arrival. The house was spotless and fully equipped. Safe to walk with the kids. Stove to light a log fire in the evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very peaceful and quiet location. Very safe.
Liked least: The pillows
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraWozE...
Tralee, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful holiday home for families”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We've just returned from our second time staying at Kilkeana Farm House and we'd like to say a big thank you to James and Mary for their fantastic hospitality and lovely cosy farmhouse, we'll be back (again!). We spent our days exploring Gleninchaquin, Molly Gallivans loop walk, Bonane, Kenmare and Killarney Lakes, and our evenings in front of the fire. The house has beautiful views towards the mountains and is surrounded by green fields. It is on a quiet lane with very little traffic. The bedrooms are comfortable and the jacuzzi bath was a huge hit with the kids (age 7 and 8), as was the complete freedom they enjoyed, exploring the land around the farmhouse and building dens in the field behind the house. Really recommend this lovely holiday home for a family vacation - it is ideally placed for trips to Killarney, the beautiful lakes, Kenmare (nice shops, pubs and cafes) and Bonane, and James and Mary are the perfect hosts. Also the house has a 4G signal with Vodafone and my husband downloaded 29 mb per sec, which was brilliant!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huw On-Ta...
Fahamore, Kerry, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect farmhouse holiday near Kenmare”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in James and Mary's lovely traditional farmhouse rental. The house is very well appointed and spacious. Great to have a wood-burning stove. Really safe location for children as the house is 1.5 km up a quiet road off the main road. Perfect location for exploring the area e.g Kenmare town is 5 mins drive or you can head up the hill towards Molls Gap. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cohajoan
Bad Sackingen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Location!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect holiday location for exploring Cork and Kerry (especially Ring of Beara and Ring of Kerry).
The good service from Mary and James started with friendly and fast communication during reservation of the house.
Also thanks to Mary and James for the warm welcome (including pick-up Service in Kenmare town, very appreciated). The house is well equipped and nothing is missing. Each bedroom has its own bath. After an active day it is a pleasure to relax in the living room in front of the wood fire place having a pint of Guinness or a glas of Jameson Whisky.
We would love to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location at all - absolutely quite with good distance to Kenmare town and surronding area
Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandMPC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely house in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in this lovely farmhouse twice. Location, views, comfort and cleanliness all without fault. A very warm welcome and generous starter pack were provided by Mary and James. Excellent value for money. No hesitation in recommending it. Many thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing