We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nicky
Chur, Switzerland

An unforgettable stay a wonderful spot

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2023via mobile
Janine and Pete are wonderful hosts. Their lodge is beautiful and very comfortable, the location is stunning and the food they serve is delicious. You will arrive as a stranger and leave as a friend. I enjoyed every minute I stayed there and will be back.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $155
  • Hotels.com
5.4 km from Wild Earth Lodge B&B
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
5.2 km from Wild Earth Lodge B&B
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
    15.1 km from Wild Earth Lodge B&B
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $135
    • Hotels.com
    45.5 km from Wild Earth Lodge B&B
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $150
    • Hotels.com
    47.1 km from Wild Earth Lodge B&B
    Free parking
    Aerial View
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $135
    • Official Hotel
    47.9 km from Wild Earth Lodge B&B
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    69.5 km from Wild Earth Lodge B&B
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Grandview Suite
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    45.1 km from Wild Earth Lodge B&B
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View from the balcony
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    45.7 km from Wild Earth Lodge B&B
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    46.9 km from Wild Earth Lodge B&B
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Makarora
    Reviews (71)
    Filter reviews
    71 results
    Traveller rating
    70
    1
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    70
    1
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews south island wonderful hosts new zealand memorable stay home away from home pete wilkin mountains siberian accommodation nz
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 71 reviews
    Reviewed 29 March 2023 via mobile

    Superlative! We stayed in the Cottage which has the most beautiful, always-changing views up the valley into the mountains. Completely private, the cottage was snug and had everything we needed to bunker down when the weather closed in and prevented our Siberia adventure. We wished we had booked for more than 2 nights. Pete was an amazing host who cooked and delivered to our door a delicious dinner and gave us suggestions of walks in the area. Without doubt Pete’s friendliness, the extraordinary view and the quirky, rustic decor made it the most memorable accommodation we have stayed in in New Zealand.

    Date of stay: March 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Scenic55494348647
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 March 2023 via mobile

    We consider ourselves to be two very lucky Americans after spending an unforgettable week in the extraordinary Cottage. Our only regret is that we didn’t stay longer. The property is a true sanctuary for anyone on holiday who wants to completely unwind in a private, beautifully designed, fully equipped home. All you need to do is bring your food and beverages and the decompression will start when you walk through the door. The only decision to be made each day is which track to walk or which book to read. The best choice might be to simply sit and relax on the back deck while watching the sky change over the Wilkin Valley. We have never seen the stars so vivid as they were from the Cottage. New Zealand doesn’t get any better than this! If you only book 1 or 2 nights here, you’ll regret that you didn’t stay longer.

    Date of stay: February 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank RunHikeBikeEatSleep
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 January 2023

    We stayed one night only at Pete and Janine's superb cottage, doing a quick tour of the South Island (South) in ten days. The cottage is a unique and extremely well equipped accommodation, with generous breakfast provisions and well designed interior and exterior living spaces. Communication with the hosts was outstanding before we arrived and only improved while we were there. Pete and Janine made us so welcome - it was as if we had known them as friends for many years. And the view out towards Mt Aeolus and the Makorora River Basin in something else. Overall we were speechless by the great hospitality, location and accommodation. Thank you very much guys and I surely hope to return one day.

    Room tip: Be prepared to be looked after very well
    Date of stay: November 2022
      • Value
      • Service
    Thank Jost-Pauline S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 August 2022

    This little piece of paradise is the perfect getaway hosted by Pete and Janine who welcomed us like family. The barn suited us perfectly was cosy and warm with everything you could ever want for your stay. We will definitely return in the future. Thank you Pete and Janine for a memorable stay

    Date of stay: August 2022
    Thank Krystalnz090
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 July 2022 via mobile

    This accomodation was our favourite place to stay in the whole of NZ, it’s beautiful and peaceful. It’s homely and got everything you need for a stay. The cabin we stayed in was spacious, had a great fireplace, verandah, cooking facilities and wonderful hosts. I’m going to go back and stay for a week because two days was not enough

    Room tip: Take your own food. Take time to chill and enjoy
    Date of stay: June 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Paul M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews