We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
40
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house haast pass sheep grazing fantastic hosts amazing views jet boat new zealand south island pete wilkin pools fireplace mountains accommodations kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Most people go as far as Wanaka, turn around and leave. If you haven't included The Haast Pass and this Lodge you are missing out BIG time. We spent 3 nights here (The Barn) and didn't want to leave. Looking for sheep grazing in front of your accomodation? huge luxurious beds that make you just want to lay there all day? Good old fashioned, tasty and most delicious Kiwi Food? Views to die for both day and night? Outstanding Hosts and outstanding Accomodation? Then this is the place.
Only half hour drive from Wanaka the Lodge looks straight up the Wilkin Valley to Snow covered mountains (even in the summer) Take a walk through the paddocks down to the River for a refreshing swim, gorgeous! 5 minutes by car and you can book in for a Jetboat ride or Helicopter ride to take the scenery in. We did both and it was incredible!! would we do it again? in a heart beat. The drive over the Haast Pass to the West Coast has some of the most beautiful scenery in the South Island and should not be missed. It is jaw dropping stuff. Don't miss The Blue Pools as they are the best and most popular attraction on the drive. The colour of the water is turquoise and crystal clear, wow, wow, wow!
Pete and Janine are fantastic hosts. Pete does the majority of the cooking and he certainly knows how to please. He owns that kitchen hands down! They are both fabulous people who are only too happy to please their guests.
We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the Valley
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We stayed in the "Barn" - no barn I have ever been in was as upscale and luxurious, with all the modcons, as Pete's "Barn". Pete supplied breakfast for us in the fridge and even lit a fire in the stove which warmed up the place pretty quickly. He is personable and was great to talk to - he is especially proud of his architect wife who designed the facility and his daughters.The views of the mountains and valley from the patio were fantastic - well worth the price of the room - even though it was cloudy and raining part of the time. Only downside is was not easy to find - we had printed out a Google aerial photo so we were generally aware of location. Our only regret is that we did not plan more than one night at the Wild Earth Lodge.

Room Tip: The 'Barn' was fantastic
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mmk0903kjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

We have stayed with Pete and Gin numerous times. It is our favourite place and we could not have chosen a better place with better people to spend our first day married.
The food and hospitality is stunning.
Thank you
Mike and Jess

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the barn at this wonderful place. The barn is well equipped with a fireplace to warm the space. Once the fire has been going it's very toasty!! There's plenty of cooking equipment, a washing machine and plenty of board games to keep you entertained.

There is a beautiful view down the valley from the barn, and it's very peaceful.

Thank you Pete (and Cash!) for your hospitality!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JessFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Secluded location off of the main highway with amazing views to the mountains from the accommodation. We stayed in the room attached to the main house which was lovely. Cosy and with a wood burning stove in the corner of the room to provide the warmth needed. Pete and Janine were fantastic hosts and you were made to feel like guests of the family. Janine cooked us a fantastic evening meal and Pete was on duty for breakfast. Couldn't fault it and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jigsaw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews