We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
23
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm tour quiet at night wilkin sheep cottage comfort fireplace property accommodation hosts views
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Along the road we saw signs with 'farmstay' but we couldn't find it at first. The distance was not right but later on we heard that the management did not put the signs there. We drove on the property asking for accommodation, it was a bit low season allready. We hired the cottage for 2 persons, very spacious and much extras. Nice terrace, fireplace with dry wood, great bed, great view, quiet at night, abundant free breakfast ingredients and very nice management, enjoyed a farm tour as well on the day of our leaving. We stayed 2 nights; bit complex because you have to book or pay cash and we did'nt have enough cash with us so we had to drive back to Wanaka for an ATM. Minor problem. We could do our lundry for free at the lodge building, their you can stay with more people, great hight standard as well. This is what (european?) tourist want! Best place of our 4 weeeks holiday.

Room Tip: Take the romantic cottage as a couple
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Babette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 May 2017

Thank you for this feedback.
It was a pleasure to have you stay here.
We are in the process of getting the eftpos sorted and hope to have it all up and running come the busy season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the homestead for three unforgettable nights. The farm provides extremely comfortable accommodation in a beautiful location, with wonderful views of the surrounding mountains and river. Eileen is an extremely kind host. Her breakfast is very tasty and generous. And the farm is the perfect base to explore the national park and Southern Alps. If you can afford it, Wilkin River Jet's Siberia Valley Experience is definitely worth it. If we'll ever get the opportunity to visit the South Island again, we will definitely come back!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Makarora River Ranch is on State Highway 6, about 2 km south of Makarora Visitor Centre. When we arrived, Eileen led the way to the cottage in her pick-up truck, she had already lit the log burner, so the cottage was warm and welcoming. Inside the cottage is spacious and comfortable with many nice touches,eg chocolate cake, fresh fruit, ingredients for continental and cooked breakfast, etc. The kitchen was well equipped and the cottage is very private. Beautiful views of snow-capped mountains and quiet at night. Lovely countryside sounds of birds, lambs and calves in the morning. No Wi Fi or mobile phone signal, which is either a plus or minus, depending on your own point of view. We really enjoyed our all too brief stay.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosepink22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

It's places like this we most enjoy when traveling. Out of town in the county and away from the crowds. Makarora River Ranch is a working farm, but also takes great care of the accommodation provided and their guests. Thanks again for short drives, Kaye!
The wonderful modern equipped cottage allows you to enjoy the tramping tracks in the area as well as just sitting on the deck enjoying the mountain views. All breakfast provisions are provided and the bar/cafe nearby is a good option for a hearty country dinner. Can't imagine any better place to stay and will surely return.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TouringCyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

The Lodge had it all, the best of everything. Lovely towels, comfortable beds, and well equipped kitchen. Firewood should you need it for the two fireplaces, family room and bedroom. Friendly host. Lots of family history on this 8000 acre working farm. Definitely well recommended

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews