We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Phoebe W

Great location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Apr 2024via mobile
The lodge is in a stunning location. The main bed was comfortable but the singles were questionable. We cooked in our kitchenette which was ok. Everything is a little dated (looking at you bathroom) but it's nice. It was my son's favourite accomodation.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Try the Siberia experience nearby- it was the highlight of our trip.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$161
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Wonderland Makarora Lodge
$100
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $100
  • Expedia.com
    $138
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
0.0 km from Wonderland Makarora Lodge
Free parking
$571
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $570
0.1 km from Wonderland Makarora Lodge
$161
Fully refundable
    0.4 km from Wonderland Makarora Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $3,250
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      $3,250
    • Tripadvisor
      $3,250
    • ZenHotels.com
    27.5 km from Wonderland Makarora Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Inside the tents
    $109
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      $97
    • ZenHotels.com
    41.4 km from Wonderland Makarora Lodge
    Free parking
    Queen Studio - Full Kitchen
    $178
    • Priceline
      $193
    • Vio.com
      $193
    • eDreams
      $178
    41.8 km from Wonderland Makarora Lodge
    Free parking
    $249
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Vio.com
    42.0 km from Wonderland Makarora Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $157
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $157
    • Expedia.com
      $157
    • Hotels.com
      $157
    43.5 km from Wonderland Makarora Lodge
    Free parking
    Aerial View
    $142
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $142
    • ZenHotels.com
      $134
    • Expedia.com
      $142
    44.3 km from Wonderland Makarora Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Makarora
    Reviews (55)
    Filter reviews
    55 results
    Traveller rating
    25
    15
    5
    3
    7
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    25
    15
    5
    3
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews bluetooth speaker haast pass seen better days comfortable bed shared kitchen enjoyed our stay wifi accommodation heating trailing nz laundry
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 55 reviews
    Reviewed 12 April 2024 via mobile

    The room was shabby, cold and very basic and expensive for what it was. The heaters were run by cords joined together and only one small one worked. Would never stay here again. We would have expected a lot better accommodation for the cost we paid. Exterior of chalets was also shabby with rusty iron.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Diane C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 March 2024

    Do not have anything good to say about Wonderland other than a nice young lady named Katerina. The kitchen was pathetic, the cabin run down, and not especially clean. The bathroom an awful mess. The place was infested with sand flies. The area is definitely worth visiting but stay in a near by town instead as this is the only place actually in town. Take a jet boat trip with Wilkins ask for Harley or Georgia. That was a fabulous experience. L

    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank GoPlaces20620385800
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

    Centrally located to home in the area. Stay x 3 nights, hiked to the tree line Mt Shrimpton one day visited numerous locations day 2 could have stayed an extra night for other activities. Locals at the pub were friendly and gave great advice of what to see and do. Lived staying - well worth at least 3 nights. Pub food was great or you can cook in your room. All reasonable price.

    Room tip: Spacious Quiet Hiking Views
    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank G5777MEdonnag
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 February 2024 via mobile

    We were in #1 which was fine and well equipped. Comfy bed and very well equipped kitchen.
    All the staff were very chatty and friendly.
    We arrived just as the night’s torrential rain did around 7 pm. Check in was by a friendly Argentian lad.
    We were able to get the car right up to the cabin door so were able to unload without gear getting wet.
    My partner is celiac and as there is no menu online I was concerned about meal choices for her, despite being assured in an email enquiry that they had many.
    We checked in to our cabin, unloaded and went straight into the busy restaurant which was a very pleasant surprise. Plenty of GF choices and prices quite reasonable. When the meals arrived they were both delicious and large portions. My slow cooked brisket was melt in the mouth and one of the best meals that I had on our 2200km road trip.
    I had issues with the booking but that was a booking.com issue (around the time that they got hacked) , contact with the lodge staff by email and staff resolved it.
    The only negative I would not is that the accommodation options on the website seem to vary a little to what is available.
    Tuis around the door and Keruru in nearby trees.

    Room tip: Wifi only available in reception area, lounge and restaurant.
    Date of stay: January 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Contention
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 January 2024 via mobile

    Ok place to stay. Peaceful until the morning when the helicopters and planes right next door leap into action. Kitchenette in our cabin wasn't very well stocked. Restaurant is not open for breakfast, but they had some pies and sandwiches left over from the previous day for sale, plus the very limited food options in the shop.
    Each cabin is private and separate from the other cabins. No wifi in the cabins, you need to go to the lounge for that. Vodafone cell coverage is fine.

    Date of stay: January 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank MikeZandvliet
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews