We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
37
43
29
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
43
29
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frame chalet haast pass franz josef clean linen no cell phone coverage the kitchen jet boat cooking utensils sized bed snow capped mountains relaxing stay stayed one night wi fi would definitely stay here again comfortable beds kereru accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We hadn't booked a site for our trip between Queenstown and Franz Josef and couldn't get anywhere near Queenstown or Wanaka as they were totally booked up so decided to head on up the Haast passage and try our luck at a DOC campsite. After trying a couple we were a little sceptical but then saw signs for Makarora and found this little Haven in the middle of nowhere. The staff were very friendly and the site had everything. The facilities were a little old and tatty around the edges but they were clean and worked perfectly. The added bonus of a restaurant and bar was the icing on the cake and fully cooked buffet breakfast was spot on.

Room Tip: No a hotel but campsite with a few cabins
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barrettg41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Lots of little cabins amongst trees and bush. River over the road. Basic but cheap and comfortable. Bar and café on site. Loads of birds, my cabin had a cherry tree outside it and the kereru flocked to it. No cell coverage, WiFi in café only, and patchy.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank BronwynCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

This was one one of the most beautiful stops on our journey, the scenery is incredible. We particularly liked the fact that the cabins were spread out and secluded, creating a peaceful space.
The facilities were excellent with a lively bar and great restaurant. The food was really good and the chef, Grant, made the effort to come over and talk to us about what he was cooking. We felt very welcome and even had a beer with some of the staff at the end of their shift.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank corbettcreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We actually loved this place. At first they seemed a little cool and it was set in what some might say are rather dated surrounds, retro accommodation too. But we loved this, it is what you make it.
If you like to be in a nice setting (our small ‘A’ frame faced a mountain and was shielded from all but two other cabins (not that it bothered us) with a stunning night sky and the morning chorus, then you will appreciate this.
There is a catering/social block for those needing other cooking and dining facilities. The showers were hot and strong. Well kept. Albeit our cabin was 20 yards from the outside toilet it wasn’t an issue for us.

The lack of man made noises save the light aircraft taking off from the field across the road!
A happy hour NZ pint in the bar and some simple cooked food in the simple but more than adequate kitchenette in the ‘A’ frame was a great finish to the day exploring the valley including the Blue Pools. The staff did all warm up ; ). and we would happily recommend this to our NZ friends and family.

Room Tip: Have a look at their site map, some are slightly more isolated than others.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank limegreen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

Booked a cabin for just two people but turned out the cabin has 4 beds for 5 people! (Approx 70 NZD) Queen bed is equipped with electric blanket. Room has heater. Public Toilet and kitchen are clean. Place is quiet and peaceful with great views. Very value for money if you guys come in a group of 4-5.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ZeeQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews