We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem”
other traveller has booked this property
Plantation house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plantation house
Entry to villa Bedroom 2 - double with shared bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Plantation house
Entry to villa
Bedroom 2 - double with shared bath
Bedroom 3 - double with shared bath
Guest bath with Jacuzzi
Bedroom 4 - king size with shared bath
Bedroom 5 - Separate bungalow with ensuite
Library with over 1,000 books, WiFi
Front porch for bird watching
Walkway and fish pond
Antique championship billiard table
Rubber trees
Pepper production
Wild peacocks
10 minutes from sea side
Leopards on Yala safari
ITN TV shooting a TV series at Sri Mathie
Pepper harvest
Coconut harvest
Wedding and reception:  bridal party stayed at villa
Buffet tailored to 70 guests at wedding
Calm cove for children
Fresh seafood
Resident parrots
Migratory long-tailed flycatcher
At peak season, over 24 species of birds are commonly seen from the verandah
Turtle hatchery
Bull elephant at Yala
Many migrant and local birds
Leopards at Yala
Other birds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Habaraduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

sshankari
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Our stay at Sri Mathie Villa was beyond our expectations! We were wowed from the time we entered the driveway till we left at the end of our 4 day stay. The caretakers, Suba and Gamini together with their team of helpers saw to our every need. The villa is truly a historic, hidden gem in the idyllic village of Haberaduwa. We left utterly spoilt and promised to return again!

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 Jan 2017
You were wonderful guests. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Tasteful furnishings and quiet surroundings in a traditional plantation house surrounded by gardens.”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a quiet and elegant home. One special feature is an outdoor veranda that wraps the house, a pleasant place to take morning coffee or sit for a drink in the evening. The staff is helpful and caring. The meals are prepared by Suba , at times along with her husband, in a delicious and attractive manner whether Sri Lankan or Western style.. Day trips to all surrounding attractions, including the beach, tea plantations, into World Heritage site Galle Fort , the local Koggola Lake, can be done through arrangements for a driver which the staff can help to arrange.

Date of stay: March 2016
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was gorgeous. A beautifully designed home in a tropical farm setting
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
agneta l
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay at Sri Mathie Villa was beyond all our expectations”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The environment is excellent for kids, families and big groups. The Sri Mathie Villa is a spacious and tasteful plantation house surrounded by different plants, rubber trees, flowers, fruits, cinnemon just to mention a few, We booked this place for a family holiday over Christmas. We were a big group with ages ranging from two up to mid sixties and there was plenty of room for us all. What makes this house truly special is the people who are there for you. Suba, her husband Gamini and their little boy Dulmeth. They are wonderful people who tenderly took care of our three small children and made us all feel very special. Nothing was ever too much trouble. We ate in every night and the cooking was excellent. The beaches is nearby and a tuk tuk could be arranged within a few mins. The beach at Unnawatuna became our favorite even if we visited other surrounding beaches as well. There are many other activities at hand and places to visit nearby and Suba was always there to guide and advise us. When arriving home in the afternoon we where enjoying the treat of her freshly made cakes.
It is our pleasure to recommend this place to future holiday planners.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kindness of our hosts Suba and Gamini with family
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateVic20...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing place - tranquil and hospitality like no other”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Sri Mathie for a family holiday over Christmas. We were a large group with ages ranging from teenagers up to mid sixties. We were looking for a house that would be large enough for us all and close to beaches etc. The house itself is amazing, set amongst a beautiful plantation with an abundance of trees, plants and flowers. You cannot see another property. We would awake in the mornings to the sound of peacocks and regularly saw a family of monkeys swinging through the trees. The bedrooms are all good sizes and there was plenty of room for us all. However what makes this house truly special are the people who look after you. Suba, her husband Gamin and our driver Suman. They are wonderful people who made us feel very special. Nothing was ever too much trouble and their cooking was to die for. We ate in nearly every night as the food was so fresh and better than restaurant quality. The beach is nearby and a tuk tuk could be arranged within 5 mins.
A trip to Galle is a must, we tried it by train which was a great experience and made easier by Suba finding out train times for us. A walk around the fort is well worth it and we would recommend the Fort Printers Hotel for lunch. Most days we spent on the beach at Unnawatuna and would come home to freshly made cake from Suba.
This is a really special place and we all couldn't recommend it enough.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Suba and her family who made us feel so special
Liked least: The rain! but it was unusual for the time of year
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.