We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Allyson B
South Boston, Massachusetts, United States

Outstanding vacation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2024
I cannot say enough about Mount Hartman - Charlie, Shawn and the rest of the staff made the trip! The estate itself is wonderful - beautiful pool, delicious food, spacious rooms and so much fun! The most relaxing and fun family vacation we've had in a long time. Highly recommend!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nikki Beckett, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this review
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. The whole team loved looking after your family and we cannot wait to see you again next year. We send our very best wishes, Nikki, Charlie, Viviana, Shawn and the whole team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$1,318
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $1,315
  • ZenHotels.com
    $1,103
  • Expedia.com
    $1,224
0.9 km from Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden
Priceline
$593
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    $593
  • Agoda.com
    $533
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Condo Nautilo
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $321
  • Expedia.com
    $304
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $340
  • Agoda.com
    $211
1.2 km from Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $363
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Relax Inn
Booking.com
$162
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
    $177
2.5 km from Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
$191
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $300
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $197
  • Hotels.com
2.8 km from Mount Hartman Bay Estate
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Lance aux Epines
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
63
5
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
63
5
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2021

This island is beautiful and the staff became more like family, anticipating our needs and wants and fulfilling our every dream.
We stayed in a suite that was beautifully done every detail in that room was done with care
And we are looking forward to another trip to the island

Room tip: All rooms are good
Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FarAway666007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2021

Without doubt one of the BEST hotels I have ever stayed at. upon arrival I was warmly welcomed by the staff and management, names exchanged and that formed the basis of our interaction for my week long stay. The staff was extremely friendly, the restaurant very flexible, top service and tasty meals. I appreciated their flexibility, whenever asked to do things that was not an offer. They approached it with same enthusiasm, professionalism and ease.(appreciate this!) Special thanks the Restaurant Staff, I had wonderful evenings here, which enhanced my experience there.

The tours arranged for me by Charlie was out of this world, water sports, snorkeling, rum and chocolate factory tours. The beaches, historical sites and exotic locations were visited as well. The real treasure was the the staff warm personalities and highly motivated . I truly enjoyed my stay. The scenery was beautiful and it was a pure magic in such a quiet and peaceful environment. Highly recommended.

Room tip: the rooms looking out to Hartman Bay, are a dream ...the sunsets are the most magical
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendabA8234SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in September. I cannot disagree more with the reviews posted on TripAdvisor.

To start with, the hotel staff were over half an hour late picking us up for the airport. There were no apologies. We had a very long flight from the UK, and standing in the sun for this length of time was not a good start to our trip.

The rooms are not luxurious. They are rustic and in need of modernization. The bed in our room was far too high. It was a struggle for me to get up onto the bed. (There was no step.) I had to do a running jump, which usually resulted in banging my legs on the wooden frame and getting bruises as a result.

The air-con our room had 2 settings – on or off. There was no option to adjust the speed or the temperature. This meant either not being able to sleep because of the heat, or not being able to sleep because the air-con was too noisy.

Every morning, lunchtime and evening at around mealtime our room filled with a nauseating kitchen smell - primarily the smell of fat. On closer inspection we realized our room was in very close proximity to extractor fans from the kitchen. This was very unpleasant and forced us to leave the room at these times.

Our TV constantly didn’t work. It was a complicated system that we couldn’t work out. There was also a constant buzzing noise. The TV lacked a good selection of channels. We were staying whilst the Ryder Cup was on and none of them channels were showing it. We ended up just unplugging the whole system in order to get rid of the buzzing noise.

We understood the hotel wasn’t on the beach when we booked, yet we were comforted by the fact at that a shuttle service existed. Well, it turned out not to be a shuttle service. There was one service per day – it left at around 10.30am and came back at around 3.00pm. This restricted service didn’t suit us, as we didn’t want to be out during the hottest part of the day. We tried walking to a local beach on one day, but it was far too hot. Yes, one can get taxis, but they are just so expensive.

The hotel has two man-made sand areas that reach the water. Please note the these are not private beaches. The sand is rock hard - it hurts to be barefoot on it. The water is not suitable for swimming.

The hotel's website says that there is a "jacuzzi spa overlooking the bay". Well, we didn't see it and it wasn't shown to us when we were given our initial "tour" of the facilities.

One very bizarre thing about this hotel is that they only played two songs when we were there - 1. All Out Of Love by Air Supply, and 2. Send Me An Angel by Scorpions. (I had to Shazam the songs to find out the titles.) These two songs were played on a constant loop – both in the restaurant and at the pool area. Day or night – they were playing. At first we thought it was amusing – then it became infuriating. These songs are so depressing and just awful. To hear them over a hundred times was a nightmare.

The hotel seemed to be taking advantage of few residents to do some major structural work on the place. Our relaxing stay by the pool was frequently interrupted by the sound of drills and hammering. On the plus side it made it harder to hear All Out Of Love and Send Me An Angel!

There were off bits of maintenance equipment just left in the garden. A jerry can didn't move the whole time we were there.

We brought all these issues to the attention of the management who initially did nothing at all. The lady we dealt with didn't even bother to come and look at the issues. (Perhaps she was already aware of them from previous customers.) The next day she reluctantly agreed to change our room even though it was clear there were no other residents. We were to be given the room next door, which had been occupied for the first night of our stay. On closer inspection we realized this room had suffered a leak through the ceiling and was being dried out with industrial sized heating fans prior to our occupancy. Our suspicion is the other residents left the hotel after suffering a flood. It would have been very easy to offer us an alternative room, as the hotel was clearly empty.

After three nights we discussed our situation and decided we just had to leave the Hartman Bay ASAP as we had spent a lot of money on this hotel and were not enjoying it. Out complaints were being ignored by the hotel staff and we had no hope for things getting any better. When we left the hotel they tried to make us pay for food and drink we had despite having paid up front for half of the stay. We only stayed for three of the seven nights and eventually we agreed we would settle at that. They should have been offering a refund not asking for more money!

Given our experience, I thought the owners would have contacted us to discuss our complaints. Unfortunately we haven't heard from them.

I really don't understand why this hotel gets such good reviews. It has made me very wary of relying solely on TripAdvisor.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Bendrusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

On a morning when we have just been told that our hotel has been recognised as one of the top 25 small hotels in the Caribbean and within the top 1% of hotels in the world, this is a very upsetting review to read. Whilst we get it right for the vast majority of our guests sometimes we get it wrong and sometimes we just cannot please some people. There was a lot of work going on in the hotel last summer to renovate the property and upgrade all of the suites and you were given a half price rate of US$225 per night to reflect that. At the time of your stay we were adding new balconies to the Rose and Jacuzzi Suites and so those rooms were not in use and there was some noise by the infinity pool whilst the work was done, (although I understand that you did not complain about this until you were checking out and trying to negotiate as to why you should not pay for any of your food and drink during your 3 night stay). You had asked to be collected from the airport at 15.30 and Peter arrived at that time. Your flight had apparently arrived at 15.00 but as you had not given us your flight number or airport of origin we could not have known that. We offer free private transfers for our guests from the airport but obviously need the flight number to be able to track early arrivals. I understand from the staff that the fact of your waiting at the airport was an issue that they were never able to recover from despite their efforts. It is the first time that we have heard a complaint about the bed being too high although you did complain about the room and asked to be upgraded. If the larger suites had been available we would have upgraded you but as already explained they were not in use. The Guest Services team moved you to another suite but not an upgraded suite. Our complimentary shuttle service has a published time of 10.30am departure to Grand Anse beach with return at 3.30pm. This timing is popular with our guests as it allows them to spend time on the beach and have lunch at a beach bar. However, we normally offer some flexibility and often the staff will make extra journeys. I am afraid that the staff felt that you were just completely unreasonable and that nothing they did would satisfy you. As well as having all of the original team of staff that worked at Mount Hartman Bay Estate when it was a private home we also have seasoned hospitality professionals on our team and they tell me that whatever we do we will not please some people. I can assure you that it was not within the capability of the staff to procure Ryder Cup coverage in Grenada for you! We have the fullest package of satellite TV channels that are available in Grenada, moreover we have high speed wi-fi throughout the resort so the coverage was fully available on the laptop. The 42" plasma TV in both of the suites that you occupied worked perfectly before you arrived, during your stay, and for all subsequent guests. It was a welcome relief to all when you let us know half way through your planned stay that you had found other cheaper accommodation. You checked out exactly half way through your holiday (having paid half in advance with the balance due) and yet refused to pay for any of the food and drink that you had consumed and this account is still outstanding. It is untrue to say that I have not written to you, I have written to the email address in Dusseldorf and have received no response, moreover I have spoken to other guests who were there at the same time as you and immediately after you and I am confident that your complaints were unfounded. The beach is raked every day and is soft white sand. You have posted 3 photographs and 2 do not need explanation, the third photograph is of the roof vent that goes down into the restaurant as part of an indoor waterfall. It is part of the architecture of the property to have a beautiful waterfall going through the restaurant into the reception area (not a flood). Since December 2013 when I purchased the hotel we have had hundreds of guests, every week I receive several thank you letters from guests and clearly Trip Advisor surveys have chosen us to be one of the top 25 small hotels in the Caribbean. We do sometimes get it wrong and just this week we had someone with a young toddler decide that our Beach House was not suitable for them, but the vast majority of time we get it right and as a property we are committed to excellence. We have decided that this summer we will close the property for 2 weeks in September to be able to do the noisy jobs so that this situation does not repeat. Meanwhile we will write off the food and drink charges for you despite the fact that we feel that your criticisms are unfair. I would like to end this response by thanking the team at Mount Hartman for all of their hard work and to urge them not to be dispirited by this review, remember the vast majority of guests really appreciate what we do. As a wise person in this industry recently told me: some people will arrive miserable, be miserable during their stay and leave miserable, no matter what you do for them! Nikki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

We have been to Grenada 4 times now but this was our first visit to this hotel having previously stayed twice at The Calabash which is just down the road and once at Spice Island on Grand Anse Beach. We found Mount Hartman hotel when we came for dinner a year ago and vowed to return to stay because the food, welcome and location is so good. We were not disappointed. Reading the other reviews of this fantastic hotel I can see that other people have tried to capture it. Some people describe it as like having your own private staffed villa, someone else describe it as like being a VIP guest of the owner, someone else says that it was an extraordinary experience. All of these are trying to describe the unique atmosphere and welcome at this beautiful hotel. I will also have a go at trying to describe it. We booked direct by sending an email to the hotel from their website and began a dialogue with the Owner. She responded to all of our questions and gave us excellent advice about which room to choose (we chose the Dais) and we got a good rate for our booking. It was lower than any of the online prices. Peter from the hotel meets you as soon as you come through the airport and takes your bags to the luxury hotel vehicle. You are then whisked away to the hotel. As you are nearing it you get a foretaste of the amazing views. Even the car park of the hotel (new since we were there last year) has to have the best view in Grenada. The hotel is built into the cliff with marvellous views. The bedroom is naturally cool and we didn't even need the air conditioning which is a bonus for us because we hate air conditioning. The expansive wardrobes are all hand made out of beautiful wood and the window shutters open up to reveal breathtaking views. The rooms are huge with high ceilings and lots of windows and doors that completely open up to enjoy the views. There are beautiful floral displays everywhere, lovely Art on the walls, tasteful rugs. It feels like an amazing home that you are warmly invited to enjoy. The bathroom had piping hot water from a huge rainfall shower head, a bathtub that is so big that you can float in it and we could even see the sea view from the bath. We still can't adequately describe the sense of peace and tranquility but we think it is that no-one treats it like a hotel. The staff are amazing and very friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. Even when the hotel is full it only takes 20 people and there are more staff than guests. The location is sublime, crystal clear blue water of a huge peaceful bay in one direction and out to sea in another direction. The hotel is on a private peninsula so only hotel guests can use the beaches and pools. This is a real advantage to The Calabash which has a public beach where people come for lunch and sit on the beach leaving little room for hotel guests. The sun beds at Mount Hartman have thick cushions and fluffy beach towels and there is plenty of shade if you want it. The swimming pools are pristine, the beach is raked every day. The snorkelling equipment is top of the range new equipment and the swimming and snorkelling from the Hotel is excellent. Other people have also talked about the kayaks and it is amazingly special to kayak in the Bay and good exercise which you will need because the food is superb. People come from all over the Island to the restaurant and it is easy to see why. If you are staying at the hotel you are guaranteed a table but we also chose to eat on our private terrace on several nights. There was no additional charge for this and it made the dinners very special. We only stayed for a week because we were not sure whether the location would be too quiet but the hotel provided free transport to Grand Anse beach whenever we wanted it so we felt we had the best of both worlds and we will definitely return for a longer stay. We like Spice Island Beach hotel and we also like The Calabash but this hotel has to be the best of the three. It is a bit less expensive than the Calabash and a lot less expensive than Spice Island but in our view it is the best of the three.

Room tip: The Dais room is on the ground floor level and is the only bedroom on that floor and it occupies one whole side of the floor. We loved the private balcony and the views.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2015

Dear Becky, thank you so much for your lovely email and for taking the time to learn how to submit a Trip Advisor review. We really appreciate it! As you know we are delighted that you had such a good time with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes from Nikki and the whole team at Mount Hartman Bay Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

I did not stay at this hotel, but I did tour the property and was totally impressed. The views of the bay and the ambiance of the hotel were nothing short of stunning. The staff was very friendly and let us walk around the hotel, I was staying with family and would stay at this hotel in a second, very personable and high end everything.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nomercy69pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mhbeowner, Owner at Mount Hartman Bay Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the property and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews