We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
128
150
85
33
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
150
85
33
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger king breakfast box service station room was clean same building petrol station industrial estate garden centre family room tamar bridge reception staff good nights sleep pleasant stay easy access would stay again stayed two nights excellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Have stayed at this travelodge several times while away with work. it's not the best. It's in a Moto service area which is pretty much closed. There is nothing on site other than the travelodge and toilets. The Subway and Burger King have both closed down.

On arrival your met with people smoking directly outside the entrance and then the lovely smell of toilets when you enter the building. The guy behind reception was great and very thorough when going through the checkin.

The room was a typical travelodge room however it did smell a little damp. This may have been from outside as the windows were open due to being very warm and no aircon in the room. the room i stayed in was adjacent to the perimeter road so any time a car or lorry went past you could hear it in the room like it was in there with you. Closed the window and it made no real difference still very loud.

Due to it being summer they dont put a quilt on your bed just a single sheet. Not ideal. They do leave the quilt in your room in a bad which i can put on the bed yourself if you want. However would be much better to provide aircon or some sort of fan in the room to keep cool.

When the traffic dies down through the night it was ok and did sleep well.

There are better hotels out there.

Room tip: Be aware you will need to travel offsite to be able to eat.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 139clarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Charley from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Saltash, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

We would like to thank you for leaving this review, and would like to apologise that you didn't find the location to be the best.

It's a shame to hear how you were met at the hotel and we would like to apologise that the heat affected your stay. We do put measures in place to try and help this.

We hope to welcome you back to a Travelodge soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Great room - clean, tidy and comfortable with a great bed - usual travelodge standard
Plenty of tea, coffee etc
Salt Ash services not the best - especially the customer toilets but the hotel was great

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Caffbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

I was unfortunately booked in here for a week in Mid May. The location was spot on as i would be working in both Devon & Cornwall during the week. Upon arrival after a very long drive on the Sunday evening i was greeted by what can only be described as my own ‘guard of honour’ of workmen of varying levels of dress smoking heavily. Quite intimidating when you are a solo female non smoking traveller.
Trying to negotiate the very heavy clunky double doors, with a suitcase, work case and bags was also a task. Seems i had also missed any dining opportunity as both on-site food locations were closed.

Check in was efficient and friendly, would have been nice to be offered a bit of assistance with the luggage i was struggling with though, as it was quite a trek to my room.

Hotel seemed clean and pleasant, and room was massive! Only bug bear on initial impressions was the lack of plug sockets. If you are going to advertise as business suitable, I would suggest more than one available socket would be nice.

Was welcomed back on Monday after work by a large family gathering on the patio in front of the doors. They stayed out there until after 10pm, not the quietest bunch, plus the constant banging of those really heavy doors all night thanks to the kids and the smokers......
By Tuesday night I realised thanks to the weather this may be a nightly thing. As the families were getting larger! Add in a few onewborns into the mix and it was getting louder. If i was on holiday i would mind less but i was trying to work.

Wednesday evening and more guards of honour, having to walk in and out of the hotel past all these smoking men. I ended up in burger king because I didn’t want to leave the hotel! Plus, its still hot. So still noisy outside and in, as the families are all in adjacent rooms on the ground floor. Underneath mine!

Id already tried to speak to reception but was promptly ignored by the blonde with her back to me in the office.

Thursday and all i could do was laugh as i pulled up after work to see smoke billowing from the roof! A closer view showed me the families (who i learnt were homeless
Families waiting for housing from the local area) had decided to have a bbq.
Theyd put the little throwaway bbq’s right in an alcove next to the front door. Smoke everywhere + more screaming kids + more shouty adults.

Not surprisingly, this was news to the hotel staff who didn’t have a clue. Because you cant see the doors from the desk! Credit to the red head older guy, when told how dangerous this was, he went outside..... and asked them to move it to the other side of the patio :(

So now, night 4 and it’s smokers, screaming kids, banging doors, people who think windows are fine as doorknockers, lap racing round hotel corridors and now a room (and the clothes in it) which stink of barbecues as it was too hot to close windows.

I couldn’t wait to go home :(

Note:

Kettle in room was black on the inside. Gross.

Think about providing a way to contact reception. I found it inconvenient but someone may have an emergency and with no lifts etc its not easy. Put a phone number in the rooms!

Think about where you allocate rooms. I struggled to get peace.
And i had a moan four bloomin times to staff!

Change the pillows or wash them, not just the pillowcases. Mine stunk of residual cigarette smoke (most likely from someones hair) fortunately I could just switch them round but it was disgusting.

Replace your front doors and monitor your perimeter. Im glad i don’t have limited mobility or your hotel would have been impossible. And you really should be aware and take action against fires!

Oh and hotels like this should be quiet and peaceful. This was more like a ymca.

The worst Travelodge I’ve stayed in, and I’ve stayed in many that have been wonderful.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Linnibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Saltash, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards.

Could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with a copy of your review to look into this more thoroughly.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

excellent Travelodge to stay at ideal for are requirements, staff were very friendly and welcoming when we arrived, the room was warm and good night sleep was had. Shower worked well and a good size t v was in the roon

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

I had the best nights sleep at this Travelodge. I had a large room. The bed was comfortable, with dark curtains and a very peaceful situation despite its proximity to the main road and the staff were really helpful and friendly .

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janvierartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews