We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it so much we stayed an extra night!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Derwent View

Derwent View holiday barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Derwent View holiday barn
View from the barn garden View from the barn garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Derwent View holiday barn
View from the barn garden
View from the barn garden
kitchen diner.  dining table seats up to 10 also breakfast bar with room for 4 and a 3 seater settee
lounge
spacious entrance hall
Main bedroom - superking bed can be split into 2 singles.  Also wooden cot and room for 2 putup beds
upstairs double bedroom
downstairs double bedroom
upstairs middle bedroom - king size bed can be split into 2 singles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mwells150
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we stayed an extra night!”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed during the week with friends.
Absolutely loved the cottage and the location, the views were spectacular!
It's a perfect place to chill out and unwind, it's very well equipped everything you could need is there! From things in the kitchen to toiletries in the bathrooms. We thought enjoyed BBQing too! Great selection of board games for the days when the weather prevents you from exploring the area. Lots of books and maps of local area to aid you in visiting the beautiful countryside. Lots of walks on the doorstep!
We travelled there by train from Nottingham less than 1hr away was a great escape from the city. It's easy to walk in to Matlock or Darley Dale, taxis back to the cottage were very reasonable at £6. We enjoyed it that much, and there was availability with the very friendly owners, we stayed an extra night!
Thankyou for a wonderful stay we hope to visit again soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonessBoa...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A break away from the Madding Crowd”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled from Grangemouth, Glasgow and the New Forest to meet up in the middle for a short spring break. Derwent view was a chance find but it most definitely won't be the last! The converted barn easily houses. 3 generations plus canine companions. with space to sit together but also room to be alone. My father in law has some mobility issues but the layout of the rooms meant he had no problems and the two en suites, family bathroom and downstairs toilet meant there were no inconveniences. often found when travelling with older people AND teenagers. The views are superb and all the homely touches Beth provides makes it really easy to settle in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: BtT Was repairing wifi during our stay. Not a criticism of the property just a comment on its rural location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja K
1 review
“Thoughtful and familyfriendly”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed with 2 families (4 adults, 5 children) for 4 days at Derwent view and had a great time. We also appriciated very much the equipment, toys, games etc. From here we had a great day out at Chatsworth (only 15 min.) and two challenging round hiking tours. To sum up everyone of the two families felt happy.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate_A_Be...
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Little Find”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were 3 families with 4 children/babies in total, that visited Derwent View & it was perfectly located, the rooms were fab & the house was well equipped with cot, travel cot, highchair, baby toys & children's puzzles, games & DVDs. o/s maps & walk ideas. Unfortunately it rained for most of the week, so we'll just have to come back again in the summer! A perfect base for exploring the Peak District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious and well equipped for all the family”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here Monday to Friday with extended family (6 adults and 4 children.) With 2 en-suites and a main bathroom we had plenty of space and it did not feel at all crowded. We'd brought books and toys for our young children but they were far more interested in the huge selection of children's books and box of toys that were in the property. There were plenty of DVDs, walking guides and games. The kitchen was very well equipped and everything was very comfortable. It was a great place to come back to after a long walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing