We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
360
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lemon drizzle cake sitting room blueberry pancakes attention to detail on arrival peak district four poster toys and books short walk through the park full english guest lounge family room fresh milk poster bedroom offered tea and cake lovely park silent fridge
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We revisited Glendon House with our friends and had as last year a very enjoyable stay. The greeting on the first day with home made cake and tea/coffee was a wonderful start.The bedrooms are beautifully decorated as are the remainder of the guest rooms and the breakfast is a real treat with the blueberry pancakes of Michelin star quality. Damian and Adrian the hosts are very friendly and helpful and clearly want you to get the most out of your stay in Matlock. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

It was lovely to welcome you back and are delighted how much you enjoyed your return stay. It is important to us that guests enjoy their stay as you say and we are always happy to do anything we can towards that. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We are six friends who have known each other for 45+ years. We meet up once a year, always in the UK. We were at the Glendon this week and had a fantastic stay. Our hosts greeted us with hot drinks and delicious home baking. The guest house is beautifully presented and the rooms are gorgeous. Breakfast was simply marvellous with a wide range of dishes to choose from, including the full English and delicious Blueberry pancakes which I had twice during our stay. All rooms are spotlessly clean, full of lovely touches and attention to detail. Damien and Adrian are terrific hosts - helpful, available and very knowledgeable about the area - places to visit and where to eat. The Glendon also has a sumptuous sitting room for all guests to use - really handy for the six of us. One of the very best of the places we have stayed at

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank clivechatwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

We are really pleased your group all enjoyed their stay. We are always happy to provide recommendations and help when we can. The sitting room is an ideal place when we have family or friends staying and are glad you enjoyed this. Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

This guest house is so well run. It’s very comfortable, pleasant decor, clean. And the breakfasts are superb. Adrian and Damien are great hosts. They are friendly and caring but in no way intrusive. One of the best places we’ve stayed.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

It is always lovely to know people find us to be great hosts. It is also really good to know this was the best place you stayed. Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

What an amazing place to stay. Hosts very welcoming and keep a discreet but "we are here" availability. Sumptuous room ( we stayed in the 4 poster room No.1.) decor is very classy and stylish. Beautiful bed linen, lovely showers. Nice touch with Elemis products. Breakfast is divine! Nothing is too much trouble for these guys. Location is the best in Matlock. Tea coffe and cake on arrival was a wonderful touch. I booked 3 rooms for a family get together and we all praised the Glendon and gushing about its atmosphere and warmth. Would I stay again? But it this way..I Googled Squatter Rights !!! :)...just book this place early...everyone loves it!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for your review. We want to be here to assist guests when needed but discreet, so are really pleased to know this is how you found Glendon. We introduced Elemis earlier this year and it has been a real success. We are really pleased you all enjoyed your stay and hope you are able to return at some future point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Last time we visited Glendon House it was on a sad occasion but this time it was to join in our friend's celebration of her 75th birthday. Glendon House was excellent on that first visit and it is still excellent. The service my wife and I received was really, really good and to be offered tea/coffee on our arrival was great. The lemon drizzle cake went down well too!!
The service we received was excellent and the room was also good. The breakfasts were superb and were enough to last us throughout each day.

Thanks again for a lovely short break to enable us to meet up with close friends and for the care especially to my wife who is coeliac and needs a gluten-free diet.

Roger and Margaret Cottrell

Room Tip: Whichever room anyone chooses is good
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogercottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

It was lovely to welcome you back and for a much happier occasion. It is really pleasing to know you still found Glendon to be excellent. Many thanks for taking the time to add a review and if you are visiting the area again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews