We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
351
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemon drizzle cakesitting roomblueberry pancakesattention to detailon arrivalpeak districttoys and booksshort walk through the parkfour posterfull englishfamily roomguest loungefresh milkposter bedroomoffered tea and cakelovely parksilent fridge
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We revisited Glendon House with our friends and had as last year a very enjoyable stay. The greeting on the first day with home made cake and tea/coffee was a wonderful start.The bedrooms are beautifully decorated as are the remainder of the guest rooms and the breakfast is a real treat with the blueberry pancakes of Michelin star quality. Damian and Adrian the hosts are very friendly and helpful and clearly want you to get the most out of your stay in Matlock. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We are six friends who have known each other for 45+ years. We meet up once a year, always in the UK. We were at the Glendon this week and had a fantastic stay. Our hosts greeted us with hot drinks and delicious home baking. The guest house is beautifully presented and the rooms are gorgeous. Breakfast was simply marvellous with a wide range of dishes to choose from, including the full English and delicious Blueberry pancakes which I had twice during our stay. All rooms are spotlessly clean, full of lovely touches and attention to detail. Damien and Adrian are terrific hosts - helpful, available and very knowledgeable about the area - places to visit and where to eat. The Glendon also has a sumptuous sitting room for all guests to use - really handy for the six of us. One of the very best of the places we have stayed at

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank clivechatwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

This guest house is so well run. It’s very comfortable, pleasant decor, clean. And the breakfasts are superb. Adrian and Damien are great hosts. They are friendly and caring but in no way intrusive. One of the best places we’ve stayed.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

What an amazing place to stay. Hosts very welcoming and keep a discreet but "we are here" availability. Sumptuous room ( we stayed in the 4 poster room No.1.) decor is very classy and stylish. Beautiful bed linen, lovely showers. Nice touch with Elemis products. Breakfast is divine! Nothing is too much trouble for these guys. Location is the best in Matlock. Tea coffe and cake on arrival was a wonderful touch. I booked 3 rooms for a family get together and we all praised the Glendon and gushing about its atmosphere and warmth. Would I stay again? But it this way..I Googled Squatter Rights !!! :)...just book this place early...everyone loves it!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Last time we visited Glendon House it was on a sad occasion but this time it was to join in our friend's celebration of her 75th birthday. Glendon House was excellent on that first visit and it is still excellent. The service my wife and I received was really, really good and to be offered tea/coffee on our arrival was great. The lemon drizzle cake went down well too!!
The service we received was excellent and the room was also good. The breakfasts were superb and were enough to last us throughout each day.

Thanks again for a lovely short break to enable us to meet up with close friends and for the care especially to my wife who is coeliac and needs a gluten-free diet.

Roger and Margaret Cottrell

Room Tip: Whichever room anyone chooses is good
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogercottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews