We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
277
76
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
277
76
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cul de sac thai restaurant beautiful garden bars and restaurants perfect location kippers town centre peak district breakfast was excellent lovely room stayed two nights a lovely place to stay local knowledge a great stay last minute booking comfortable beds visiting the area
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

A wonderful experience. The staff were all so friendly, helpful and professional. Our room was extremely comfortable and had a fantastic view across the valley to the far hills. The hotel has an excellent kitchen and the food was fantastic. Very, very dog friendly. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Beeches9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Great guest house, lovely breakfast. Nice friendly staff and lovely atmosphere. Great location, walking distance to bars and restaurants. Stayed in family room at the back which was suitable for three adults (parents and daughter). Chatsworth close by approx. 30 minutes by car and Matlock Bath close by, both well worth a visit. Train station conveniently within walking distance which includes an old fashioned 'steam train' service. We did order breakfast the evening before as requested and it was lovely. The staff were friendly and polite and accommodating. Loved that it was so central.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jas1719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We managed to squeeze in a last minute booking, due to a late cancellation the night before. The location, the rooms, the staff/ owners, the breakfast were all superb.
We had a fantastic time and are very grateful for the top tips for visiting the area and enjoying the Peak District. This was our first visit, but won’t be our last! Thanks and see you again :)

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Basit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Greeted by our warm and charming hosts Graham and Jennie was just the start. Beautiful period home. Fabulous lush gardens riverside that we were able to share. Lovely individual cottage style room. Great shower, ordering breakfast choices the evening before is a great idea, so much to choose from and fresh and hot when served. Best fresh fruit salad I have ever had in a guesthouse. Jennie is like my mother, always making sure you are happy and have everything you need to enjoy your stay, but never intrusive. We loved our stay and are looking forward to a return visit. Thank you for making our anniversary stay so special. Sharon & Mark x

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sharonh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We always look at the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking accommodation and it usually works very well. However, there is the odd occasion where we are disappointed. Our stay at Riverside was one such instance.

Beginning upon arrival, we were met by the landlady who was rather abrupt in manner. After giving us a room key, we were given instructions for ordering breakfast the following morning which was to pre-order our selection and choose a time slot. We would have preferred to order in the morning, but accepted that they need to prepare beforehand to ensure guests preferences could be met. We also had the expectation that it would be served in a timely manner and were looking forward to it. Oh dear, it was chaotic. We were given food that we had not ordered, as were other guests. We watched as the landlady questioned a woman as to why she was sending back cold food, which reminded us of Fawlty Towers. We decided against pointing out the error with our order and made do with it.

I am surprised that this guest house receives such glowing recommendations- however, looking at some of the reviews, there are quite a number written by people with very few postings. Riverside is in a nice location, but that does not override poor customer service. After this trip, we all agreed that we would return to Matlock as it is lovely, but definitely not to Riverside. I would suggest looking at other accommodation in the area as there are so many options available.

Room Tip: Look at alternative accommodation in Matlock
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank grace2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham N, Owner at Riverbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

It is always disappointing when a review such as this, is received. Fortunately, it happens very rarely but when it does, we look at the complaints closely. I am that person who has caused such offence, and I can only apologise. We would choose not to set times for breakfast, or to pre-order the night before. We have twelve bedrooms, potentially twenty eight people to serve, and have always prepared our breakfasts freshly, but obviously
we failed to deliver our usual standard. I am pleased that you will continue to visit this beautiful area in the future but please bear in mind that these are the most hectic months of the year and on occasions, things go wrong. You are entitled to voice your views, as our many thousands of very happy guests, are entitled to to voice theirs. Thank you for reviewing Riverbank House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews