We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here. Wonderful food and original Bakewell Pudding”

Original Bakewell Pudding Shop
Ranked #2 of 4 Bakeries in Bakewell
Price range: US$6 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Tremendous food. Large quantities. We had afternoon tea with prosecco. Wonderful, but servings are a bit too big. Very popular restaurant, so be patient. Be sure to get the original Bakewell pudding.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ptglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you for your kind words, this is a lovely review and we're really grateful. Your quite right to comment on the potion size and we certainly have a mindset that too much is better than to little.

We're really glad you enjoyed yourselves here and we hope the rest of your day in Bakewell was great too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

Bought a Bakewell pud for £6.25 to cut into 4 and eat at home. Very nice but a bit sugary, nothing like a Kipling purchase. You can buy all sorts of cakes and puds or go upstairs and have tea in the shop.

Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave us some nice feedback Lorraine it's really kind of you. We hope your time spent with us was just a small part of a great day in Bakewell!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

There’s no private parking but it’s close by in a pay and display car park

You’ll love the olde world charm of this place and the notoriously heavenly gorgeous cakes and Bakewell Pudding. The only place I go for them!

Thank Dreamer1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thanks so much for getting your puddings from us we really appreciate your custom. We'd also like to thank you for taking the time to recommend us on here it's really kind of you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

An absolute must visit. As big fans of the Bakewell Tarts - me and the wife had to try the original puddings and we weren’t disappointed. We shared a small pudding upstairs in a lovely seating area then popped down to buy a medium! Fairly pricey but worth it for the experience

Thank Sahloff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thanks so much for visiting and taking the time to leave such a positive review on here we're all really grateful. It's great to read that you enjoyed your pudding!

Thanks for coming into see us, we hope your time spent with us was just part of a lovely day in Bakewell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

We were on the way back from a walk, and stopped in Bakewell for a late lunch. We were struggling to find somewhere still serving at 4pm, and got directed here by another cafe.
The menu was very good, with plenty of variety, for whatever you were after. The bread on the sandwich was incredibly good (as you'd expect from a place above a bakery), and the salad was very good. It was exactly what we needed, in a lovely atmosphere, and with great service.
On a previous visit to Bakewell, we had visited the shop for a traditional Bakewell pudding/tart. My memory of that was that it was very good as well. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TimStobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

We're really glad to read that yo enjoyed your lunch Tim. Thanks for taking the time not just to visit but to leave such a lovely review its much appreciated.

We're very proud of all of our baked products including our bread puddings and tarts, thank you for letting everyone know you enjoyed them.

We really hope your time spent with us was just a small part of a great day in the area, thanks for visiting, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Original Bakewell Pudding Shop also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Original Bakewell Pudding Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing