We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect venue for a birthday get together!”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
big room
Living room
Living Room
courtyard
Dining Room
captains bedroom
downstairs twin
downstairs double
Games Room - this room is built into the hill and so in the winter can be a little musty
Games room 2
Games room
Garden in summer
View from the Garden in winter
The unassuming view from the road
Sunday Lunch in the dining room
plan
Peveril Castle
Curber Edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon R
1 review
“Perfect venue for a birthday get together!”
Reviewed 5 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A great spacious house ideal for family or friends to get together. The location is just right for walking into Bakewell and for visiting local attractions.
The lounge is amazing and easily seats everyone and the gin terrace fabulous for those early evening drinks!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2018
Thanks so much for your review. We a delighted you had a great time - and the weather to enjoy the gin terrace! Best wishes Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
2 reviews
“Fabulous house!”
Reviewed 1 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This house is superb for a large group. The kitchen was fully equipped and the lounge was perfect for hanging out together. The beds were extremely comfortable and the house is in a great location. Had weather been better we would have had chance to take in the wonderful views from the ‘Gin Terrace’.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2018
Thank you for such a lovely review. Fingers crossed that next time get better weather and able to enjoy the high up garden and gin terrace. Very best wishes, Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“great location for walking and pubs nearby”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had a lovely Easter break in Victoria Cottage, despite the weather having a good go at stopping us! The lounge is a good size and we enjoyed board games on the lovely big coffee table.
Nearby we can recommend the local Indian restaurant Rajas, and we enjoyed a meal out in The Manners pub as well. It's a short walk to the Monsal Trail - we walked along the river and joined the trail near Monsal head to get more of a circular route.
Games room was really rather chilly but that was more to do with the unseasonably cold weather! The A6 is a busy road and has quite a lot of lorries at night, nothing that ear plugs can't fix though. The downstairs double room has rather thin curtains so an eye mask might be of help there.
Maggie was helpful throughout, even finding out closing times of local amenities on a bank holiday for us.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
Thanks Sarah for your lovely review. We are delighted you had a great time, this is most important to us. There are eye masks available for use in the house - as explained in housekeeping sheet. We will be adding black out material to the downstairs double curtains as we have to the other blinds. We totally take your point re the Buxton Road which does have its moments! Although we have found the double glazing does help with the bedrooms that are on the road side. Fortunately the house has only a few of its windows facing that way. Thanks and best wishes, Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C
2 reviews
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The cottage was fab, we had 11 people for a birthday weekend away and had plenty of room to cook, dine and chill out in the huge dining room. It was really well equipped, the views from the gin terrace were lovely and Maggie was helpful and responsive throughout. We can't wait to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2018
We are so very glad you had a great time and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday weekend stay!”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

11 family and friends stayed in Victoria Cottage for a birthday weekend celebration and we had a wonderful time. The space was perfect for our group, particularly good was the lounge area that had more than enough seating for us all.

Maggie was great leading up to the stay...I communicated with her a few times for help organising a surprise ahead of our visit.

We were there during the 'beast from the east part 2' visit so did actually think at one stage that we were going to be there longer than intended! But it was beautifully warm and cosy in the cottage and Bakewell is great to walk around even in the snow :)

For info...if you park well you can get 4 cars on the drive...we just about managed it. You'll just need one of your group to stand in the road to stop the traffic when you're driving off.

One thing we didn't do is to go up on the terrace which is a shame (one of the first arrivals did but the rest of us were too keen to get back indoors after a Baltic hike on Saturday!). We'd absolutely love a repeat visit...maybe when it's a little warmer so that we can make use of the 'gin terrace'.

Highly recommend you visit! Thank you Maggie for all of your help.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2018
Oh thank you so much for this lovely review! We are so glad that you had such a great time. Well done with the cars! We very much look forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing