We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

The Barge Inn Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A fresh update of a beautiful historic inn, serving pub classics, great local ales and fantastic bag in box ciders, plus canal side garden and modern rooms.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Most expensive pint ever !
Enjoyed couple of drinks with friends . I drove and parked in car park . Ended up with parking fine . Pub staff crap and parking company refused the appeal . Won’t go again .

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank nalexander76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2021

Made a mistake to choose this venue for a family evening meal last Sunday evening. I guess I should have known all was not good when ask to pay up front for the round of drinks we had just ordered. Similar upfront payment requirement after ordering mains and puddings.
Service was slow even for drinks (over 20 minutes), however when the mains were brought, my grandson’s pizza meal was covered with feta cheese which was not on the menu. The waitress argued that the menu listed the pizza with a feta cheese topping. The on-line menu clearly showed that it did not, which is why we had chosen that option! Eventually was promised a refund, but as yet, I have not seen any money. Grandson ate items from other plates on our table of 7. We were not supplied with any napkins, so we requested some. They were eventually delivered, all 4 of them for a table of 7??
Finally, the grandkids wanted ice cream for pudding which were ordered along with one other pud, all of which was paid ahead again. How can it take 45 minutes to put together 3 puddings, 2 of which came straight from a freezer?
I am aware business has been tough for these industries, but this is really appalling and as a consequence, this business will not get any further money from me or my family.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jillstevew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2021

Do not go here. Vomit in gents toilet was left uncleaned so others were then walking it all over the floor outside the toilets but then also got a £60 parking ticket despite being a guest of the pub. No easily visible signage about this and pub staff don't warn you about this. AVOID

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank michaelaN4867IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

You can spend time and money in here and not once be told to register your vehicle. Then a few weeks later you get a £60 fine for being less than a minute over the two hours that we didn't even know existed! No help whatsoever from the pub or parking company they've sold out to, even when proof of being there was given. AVOID.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 108sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

Four of us arrived here for drinks. We were told to take a seat and view the menu online. The seats in the outdoor garden are mostly rotten and we had to change tables twice before we found a stable one. We sat there for over 20 minutes waiting for service which never came so we left. Seems the guys that work here have a chip on their shoulder. I don't know why, the place looks a complete mess. Surely during lockdown, they would have had chance to tidy it up! And, which other pub asks you to register your car for parking! This place doesn't deserve to survive if they continue to treat their customers with contempt.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barge Inn Restaurant also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Barge Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.