We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful fish and chips!”
Review of Harry's Shack

Harry's Shack
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A little beach shack right on the sand serving the best of local fish and home grown vegetables in a relaxed environment. Book in, and enjoy
Reviewed 8 May 2017

The location of this restaurant (right on the beach) was an attraction, but the food was also terrific. We just had the standard fish and chips, but found the portions generous and most importantly, the fish was cooked to perfection in a light batter that was of the cheap greasy variety. We visited on a busy Friday evening, during a spell a brilliant weather, but despite the place being very busy, the service was prompt and very friendly, The only minor negative was the wine list, which was particularly brilliant and was quite pricey - we should have gone for what looked like a great range of local beers.
The parking has attracted some attention in previous reviews. It is a bit odd (you have to park on the beach) and you do have to pay during the official beach opening hours, but it is worth noting that National trust members can park for free - which we did.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank ABRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 357 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Read the recent reviews and decided to try on our next visit to north coast - not disappointed.
There at lunchtime and place was busy & staff out to please. Had the Harry's fish and chips and house special - great. Will be back.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

The situation of this little place is amazing. From where you park your car you walk through sand to get to it.
When we arrived having booked several days earlier, we were offered a not very good table well away from the windows. Since the sea view is one of the main reasons for choosing the place we refused and got a better table.
The menu is heavy on seafood. Since none of us are meat-eaters we were disappointed that the star fish dishes on the menu were garnished with pancetta or chorizo, I think the chef should reconsider this.
Starters excellent and arrived reasonably promptly. A problem emerged after we had waited quite a while for our main courses. The waitress brought the main courses but only one small bowl of potatoes. There should have been two. She promised to bring them and then disappeared for the rest of the evening. It took several attempts at begging before the missing spuds were brought. We were given several reasons for the delay. I was just deciding that I would not be back, when the manager arrived and offered us desserts on the house. What a difference that made to the overall experience. Things can go wrong anywhere. Facing up to them and making amends can turn a one star review into a four star.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ballydorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

we had lunch, the food was good but not exceptional. We'd seen comparisons in the sunday times with it being on a par with the ox in belfast. It fell a long way short of this standard (it is a shack), for example:
. there were no toilets (closed) - unacceptable!
. the service was slow (when we arrived we could have been offered some drinks while we were waiting), had to wait / askfor our bill, etc
. menu items not available
. paying £6 to park on the beach

The selection of wines and beers was good

It is close to being a good experience but unfortunately falls short in a number of areas

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BallyclareLeonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shacklife, Manager at Harry's Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you for clarifying we are a beach shack and not OX!
Where we won't be beaten is in our fresh fish & causal environment & fab views (and great wines & beers thank you!)
I should highlight your complaints of beach parking charges and closed toilets are nothing to do with us. Our toilets has/was/will be working 100% inside.
The beach toilets next door have been under renovation & these are owned and managed by the National Trust and not ourselves. The works will be amazing for the beach & a short term inconvenience, but to reassure anyone reading this, our toilet continues to work perfect.
Free parking exists on the approach road, beside golf club. for anyone not wanting to park on the beach. The National Trust do a great job paying for lifeguards, managing the beach and keeping things safe and proper. Car charges / memberships contribute to this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

We visited Harry's Shack last week and had a thoroughly lovely evening. A warm welcome, the menu is varied and everything we ordered was beautifully presented and very enjoyable. Excellent selection of wine , my Argentinian Malbec was the nicest I have tasted. Great very friendly service.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry's Shack also viewed

Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Coleraine, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Harry's Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing