We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen/Dining Room. Solid oak worktops.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/Dining Room. Solid oak worktops.
Tara Lodge, Holiday Accommodation. Sleeps 8. 4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms. Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
141 reviews
Kitchen/Dining Room. Solid oak worktops.
Tara Lodge, Holiday Accommodation. Sleeps 8. 4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms.
Dining
Lounge
Master Bedroom, Ensuite
Twin Room
Double Bedroom - First Floor
Upstairs Seating Area
Family Room
Castlerock Beach
Water Activities
Water Actvities
Sailing
Water Activities
Blokarting
Skydive
Water Sports
Water Sports
Manannan Mac Lir, Sea God, Sculpture, Gortmore Viewing Point
Dark Hedges, Game of Thrones
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castlerock, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 141 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sugarlump...
Whitehead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Brilliant home from home! We enjoyed a fabulous week with our family, which included a baby and toddler plus our dog and the property suited everyone. Brilliant location within walking distance to the beach, local shop and train. The house was very comfortable and had everything you could possibly need for a week self catering. The proprietor Diane was lovely to deal with and all correspondence was professional yet very personable. We would highly recommend Tara Lodge and will return in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Hi
Just to say thank you for completing the review and your great comments. I'm so delighted that the family enjoyed Tara Lodge & Castlerock. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Regards Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew O
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accommodation very well situated.”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself and 5 motorcycle friends have just returned from a bank holiday weekend stay at Tara Lodge. The accommodation is excellent and the location and local amenities are perfect for a break away. We all definitely hope to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property and location.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Hi Andrew
Thanks for the lovely review & its great to see that you and your biker friends had a great stay at Tara Lodge. See you again in 2016.
Regards Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBleakley
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem that is Tara Lodge of Castlerock!”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have visited Tara Lodge before and this visit was no exception. As with before we had an amazing stay. The house is fantastic and has everything we needed for a family stay. The kids loved it and the beach is only a short walk away so lots of outdoor fun. We are already looking into dates for our stay next year. Can't recommend this place enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Hi Lauren
It was great to see you & your family back at Tara Lodge again. Delighted you had a great time & look forward to seeing you in 2016. Don't forget to book you dates as 2016 is booking up FAST.
Regards Diane
Owner/Manager
Tara Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tara Lodge, a super place to stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Tara Lodge is spacious and comfortable. All services are provided to an excellent standard. It is obvious that the owner takes great care to make the whole experience superb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious comfort
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Hi Robert. Thank you for this lovely review of your time spent at Tara Lodge with your family. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards Diane
Owner/Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mari W
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Property with the Wow! Factor”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My family & myself spent 2 unforgettable nights in this amazing property. From walking through the door we were blown away by the quality of the facilities, the presentation and cleanliness and the attention to detail. On arrival we were greeted with wine & chocolates - a lovely touch.
The rooms are vast and, despite sharing the house with others, it was easy to find space for oneself and not feel crowded. I loved the luxurious egyptian cotton bedlinen.
The house is perfectly situated to explore the wonderful coastline of N.I. and Donegal.
The owner obviously works tirelessly to maintain the high standards that this property presents and it really is home from home.
I would very highly recommend reserving this house and we will definitely be returning for another vacation to this luxuriously appointed property. I cannot praise it enough in a few paragraphs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house had absolutely everything - more than my own home!
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you for this lovely review. I'm delighted that you & your family enjoyed your break at Tara Lodge and I looking forward to seeing you soon.

Regards Diane
Owner/Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing