We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 for a reason ”
Review of Ocho Tapas Bistro

Ocho Tapas Bistro
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Portrush
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Description: Relaxed, informal dinning, with sharing plates, romantic as loving is sharing.spanish fusion with local artisan produce , great local seafood from portrush and north coast , causeway coast and Glens produce, fresh seafood,local beers and ales also serving great wines. Children's menu with lunch and early bird menus
Restaurant details
Description: Relaxed, informal dinning, with sharing plates, romantic as loving is sharing.spanish fusion with local artisan produce , great local seafood from portrush and north coast , causeway coast and Glens produce, fresh seafood,local beers and ales also serving great wines. Children's menu with lunch and early bird menus
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal. The early bird special of three tapas choices for £10.95 turned out to be excellent value.

So we ordered six dishes. The mixed board of cheese and ham which was a £2 upgrade. The garlic chicken. The pork fillet. The meatball. Tempura mushrooms. A stuffed avocado. They were all outstanding except for the avocado.

Great ambiance and good service.

They did not have the red wine in stock that we ordered off their premium menu list.

We asked for more bread to soak up the very good tomato sauce that came with the meatball. We were charged £1.95, which I thought was kind of cheeky.

Nevertheless, we would return in a heartbeat because the food was soooo good.

Thank 423macs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trudybrolly, Owner at Ocho Tapas Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi Mac S,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and great to read that you enjoyed the Early bird menu . Sorry we didn't have the wine you wanted on busy periods it is possible we sell out but we have an extensive wine list with 33 different wines from Spanish, Old World and New World wines. On the Early Bird menu we have as one of the options Breads, Dips, Rapseed and Olive Oils which you could have chosen we do charge for extra bread as we make our own Sourdough in house which is a time consuming process and has a cost to make but it is great bread and we are very proud of the bread we produce. We hope to see you back again soon.

Regards Trudy and Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

This is a great little tapas restaurant which is very helpful in providing vegan meals .
The waiting staff were lovely , very helpful and friendly. Prices good too.
Only little criticism is that the plates could have been warmed , the food became cold quickly.
However when next in a Portrush we will be back .

1  Thank Shannon1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Looking for a restaurant in Portrush we found this little gem. There was reasonably priced wine by the carafe and a wonderful selection of little plates we could share. We ordered King Prawns in Chili/Garlic oil...wonderful, Baked Scallops in Celeriac puree, also great, and (as I remember) Croquettes with goat cheese and beetroot which was delicious.

The restaurant was busy and our server was overloaded but the service certainly was not deficcient in any way.

Would go here again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JohnnyFry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trudybrolly, Owner at Ocho Tapas Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi JohnnyFry1,

glad you found us and great to hear that you enjoyed the Prawns and Scallops we hope you get back our way soon again.
Regards Trudy and Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

This restaurant has a reasonable choice for vegetarians and vegans. The food is good and well presented. The service seemed a little slow although the waiting staff were literally running up and down the stairs. I would have no hesitation in returning.

1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

The challenge with tapas is the variety of options and getting the right mix. Helpful staff were good at helping on this - we ended up full but not overwhelmed. Highlights included Halloumi and a mixed plate including scallops.

Thank Brien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trudybrolly, Owner at Ocho Tapas Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi Brien L,
Thank you for your kind review and we loved to hear that Team Ocho looked after yu so well.
Regards Trudy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocho Tapas Bistro also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Ocho Tapas Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing