We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my goodness,this place is a must !!!”

The Bushmills Inn Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Bushmills
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$48
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: one of Ireland's and the UK's most loved hotels which fuses traditional charm and bags of boutique luxury to deliver the best in hospitality in an area of outstanding natural beauty in Northern Ireland. Roaring peat fires, nooks and crannies and a secret library set the tone. In the bar, still lit by gas light, try a glass of malt from the hotel's private cask and make sure to sample some of the finest North Antrim produce in the AA Rosette restaurant.
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I cannot say enough how wonderful this place is,Here and the Merchant Hotel are my two favourite places in Northern Ireland ,the food is amazing,their sticky toffee pudding with Bushmills Whiskey sauce is outstanding ,We have also stayed here and it is the epitome of luxury,from its gaslit bar to it's little snug upstairs with it's roaring turf and log fire to it's beautiful luxurious bedrooms .....a Must !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louisa_Jane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushmillsInn, General Manager at The Bushmills Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Dear Louisa, Thank you so much for your lovely comments and high recommendation as we are always delighted to hear how much a guest has enjoyed their stay and appreciated the high quality of food and service in our Restaurant. The sticky toffee pudding has been on our Menu for a very long time and is always a very popular choice! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Alan Walls (Hotel Manager).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 431 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2016

We visited Giants steps and Bushmills whisky distillery and had lunch here. Place was nice experience what comes to décor. Also service was good. However I was a bit disappointed on my Fish and chips serving. Batter didn’t have any flavor. I have had better servings in Ireland. However, many of my crew complimented other dishes they had. Servings were large to cater also for bigger hunger. Worth visit. Take something else from the menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kirsi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushmillsInn, General Manager at The Bushmills Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Good morning and thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear the positive comments which you have made following your recent visit to our Restaurant but are disappointed that you did not enjoy your fish and chips. We hope that you took the opportunity on the day of your visit to bring this to our Restaurant Team's attention as we rely on feedback to continually improve and would have certainly replaced your dish or allowed you to choose an alternative had we known about the issue at the time. We do hope that you will have the opportunity to return again soon. Best wishes, Alan Walls (Hotel Manager).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We ordered food and were told if we needed additional items we could order them. When we decided to order additional sides we were told the food stops at 8:00. We argued that we were told we could order additional food but the bar tender rudely informed us that food service stopped at 8:00. Fortunately the manager was Called and sorted the problem out. Not happy

2  Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Fun lunch spot in an elegant location in the heart of town. Try the local cheeses and delicious homemade bread. Fish and chips also crisp and flavorful. Any of these restaurants serve outstanding local beer.

Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushmillsInn, General Manager at The Bushmills Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Dear Laurie, Thank you for your review as we are delighted that you enjoyed dining with us recently and sampling some of the local produce and craft beers which we have on offer. We hope that you enjoyed your trip to the Causeway Coast and wish you a safe journey home to the States. Best wishes, Alan Walls (Hotel Manager).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

A party of 10 of my friends decided to try the Bushmills Inn for lunch. The menu was average but massively overpriced. You would get a far better quality meal for half the price in Portrush!
I had the burger which was cremated and no better than a take away meal.
This place is angled a tourists, it simply would not survive without the passing traffic of the Causeway and the Distillery.
Very disappointed with the food however the waitresses were very friendly.
Avoid if you can.

Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushmillsInn, General Manager at The Bushmills Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Dear Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit to our Restaurant and I apologise that it was not to your taste. We take customer feedback very seriously and are perturbed that we cannot find such feedback recorded in any of our recent daily records but note that you have not included a date in your review. This makes it slightly more difficult to reply as we encourage comments at the time of the issue in order that we can resolve them when they occur.

However, to address several of your points, I would like to offer the following:

‘the menu was average’
We would be grateful to hear your feedback in order to interpret this as we can only assume you are referring to the choice on the menu. Our Day Menu, which is served from 12 midday until 5pm, unlike most other local establishments in the area who finish service at 2.30pm, offers a range of fresh popular produce from soup and sandwiches to a variety of complete meals which are on the menu by popular local demand. We also offer a full children’s menu and daily specials. If there is something not catered for on our menu we would genuinely be interested to hear of something you feel could expand our offering.

‘massively overpriced’
We are a 24 hour functioning hotel with private car parking, waiter service, full table settings and linen and various other facilities, and we hope that guests can understand that the price therefore differentiates from that of a Portrush takeaway or informal self-service establishment. We take great pride in our product and consider what we do to be value for money.

‘aimed at American tourists’
We would dispute that we are simply ‘aimed at American tourists’ but aimed at visitors, whether they be from overseas or the local area. A hotel is defined as “An establishment providing accommodation, meals, and other services for travelers and tourists” and the majority of our year long repeat business comes from the local area or domestic tourism. These regular guests have a significant input into our menu and the type of food they want to see, and we are proud of this connection and regular feedback that we receive from them, as well as tourists passing through.

‘cremated burger’
Without knowledge of the date and time of your visit and whether feedback was given on the day, I can only offer that we char grill all our burgers to order and this offers a significantly unique flavour compared to takeaway burgers which you have made a comparison with. Without actually seeing the burger you are referring to it is difficult for us to make meaningful comment but had we known about the issue at the time we would have been more than happy to replace the dish or offer an alternative dish. With regards to the quality of the product, we have a very close relationship with a local farmer who breeds rare Belted Galloway beef cattle on our behalf. It is then hung for 28 - 30 days with full traceability, trimmed in-house and passed to a local butcher to produce our unique ‘Beltie Burger’ patties which you had topped with pulled bbq pork shoulder, in a toasted brioche bun with baby gem, beef tomato and sweet potato fries.

I thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit and also for your acknowledgement of our friendly waiting staff. We will make sure they are aware of this feedback as they work hard to ensure the enjoyment of all our guests and they will also be disappointed to hear of your overall dissatisfaction.

I see from your profile that you are based in Coleraine, and while this review is not what we generally hear, we can only hope that this has not been your first visit to our Restaurant and that previous visits have been more to your liking. We fully accept that we cannot be all things to all people, however, we also hope that on reflection you will not ‘avoid if you can’ in future.

Best wishes, Alan Walls (Hotel Manager).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bushmills Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Bushmills, County Antrim
Bushmills, County Antrim
 

Been to The Bushmills Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing