We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hillcrest Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Brightmoo...
Nunavut, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband, his mom, and I stayed here for ten days. It is a beautiful cottage with a lovely garden in the scenic countryside just outside Carrickfergus. Every morning we looked forward to seeing Bob's horses in the pasture. Bob and his dog, Lilly were a welcoming sight when we arrived and every morning of our stay. We loved the furniture in the cottage especially, the reclining love seat! It was an added bonus to have WiFi so my husband was able to do some work during our vacation. My husband also enjoyed peaceful runs on the country roads in the area. Runners have to be extra cautious due to hedges reducing visibility. Mom didn't want to leave as she loves horses and dogs. We would stay here again and would recommend to others. Bob is a wonderful host!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Washer/dryer machine in one; small and noisy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the fuyure. Regards Norma and Bob (and Lily)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D
Redhill, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly idyllic”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at Hillcreast Cottage to a very warm welcome from Rob (the owner) and his little dog Lilly. They were so welcoming and inviting that we felt instantly at home. It was extremely clean and well ordered. The cottage itself was an upside down cottage with the living room and second bedroom with en-suite upstairs and main bathroom, kitchen and master bedroom on the ground floor. There was high-speed internet for those of us that can't keep away from our phones for longer then 10 minutes (ie my fiancé and I) and a large flat screen tv in the lounge with two comfy sofas to relax on (one was a recliner). All the lining and towels were supplied and freshly laundered that morning. Our only gripe was that the upstairs floorboards cricked when walked on and the floor could do with a carpet to muffle this sound. Do not let this put you off this characterful cottage that is nestled in the Carrickfergus countryside away from the beaten track but open to the rest of Northern Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to sit on the sofa and look out over Carrickfergus bay.
Liked least: Criecking floorboards
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes Norma and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemAndyCu...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely location, quaint cottage”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were met by Bob on arrival who kindly showed us around, lovely welcome. The cottage was a typical country cottage with amazing views over carrickfergus and Belfast lough. The upstairs was very well decorated with a lovely living area. My mum loved the upstairs bedroom and ensuite and commented that the beds were very comfortable. The downstairs bedroom was comfortable also. Kitchen had everything we needed for our weeks holiday. The cottage is very tidy, my only negative being that there was alot of cobwebs and spiders and the bathroom downstairs could maybe do with a bit of rejuvenation. As we had two little children with us the stairs did cause a problem as we are used to having stair gates at home. Overall we were happy with our stay and would recommend to others. Thank you very much Bob and Norma.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2014
we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. As we are in the country you tend to get more insects. However we are surprised you found any spiders or indeed any cobwebs. My wife and I clean the cottage ourselves and we are very thorough and remove dust, cobwebs etc., giving the cottage a final check shortly before handover. All I can think is that they occurred during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vic2r01
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location.”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I found the surroundings interesting, near the sea front, which would be great in the Summer. The cottage had everything included and was close to all shops an supermarkets. The Family as a whole were friendly and helpful. The location was, what you would expect from an Irish cottage,warm and inviting , mixing old traditional feel , with modern appliances.
The area is not a troubled spot , so even in difficult periods in the summer, individuals from anywhere can feel safe and secure. I would go back to this location and I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: away from it all
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
thank you for taking the trouble and time to write a review. We are pleased everything was to your satisfaction and hope to see you in the future. Norma and Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Central Heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jan 2014
I must apologise for the heating thermostat in the cottage not working. Unfortunately we were not able to get an electrician over the Christmas period. Regarding updating, the washer/dryer, fridge freezer, cooking pans, cutlery and stair carpet are all new this year. In addition the downstairs bedroom was completely refurnished in quality solid oak. The twin room will be updated this year. Our cottage is assessed every year by the Northern Ireland Tourist Board and our 4 star grading was confirmed in August. Regarding the electric showers the temperature needs to be set before you get into the shower. Regarding the lack of contact,it was winter with short days. It was also Christmas and your family and my family were busy doing what one does at Christmas so we were both not there a lot. The cottage is close to our house and you will recall I did say when showing you around the cottage not to hesitate to call us if you needed anything. In our years of renting our cottage we have found that you have to be careful not to be intrusive of guests privacy so there is a fine line to walk. We try to get it right and hope we generally do. We hope you will stay with us again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing