We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Finn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
China cups, saucers, plates, mugs in addition 'everyday ' crockery
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
China cups, saucers, plates, mugs in addition 'everyday ' crockery
Superior range of cutlery
Stellar sauce pans and a le cruset dish
Dining area with spectacular views across the Finn Valley into Donegal
Dining table can very comfortably accommodate 6 adults  with space for 2 high chairs
Dining table  very comfortably seats 6.  (Space for 8 people)
Log burner , TV, free wi-fi, 2 reclining settees
Relax with the beverage of your choice
2 reclining settees to relax with the additional warmth from the woodburner
Upstairs bedroom 1 with en-suite bathroom with bath
Bedroom 2 with en-suite bathroom with shower
Downstairs bedroom with wet-room opposite
Downstairs bedroom with full length mirror (on wall behind the door)
Bedroom 1 upstairs
Bathroom with bath and shower over bath
Bedroom 2    shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Strabane, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marty B
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage is wonderfully spacious, very comfortable and set in idyllic countryside with awesome views. The furniture and fittings are first class and all this is only out done by the wonderful welcome we received from Anne!
We travelled with our family including our first grandchild and Anne supplied a cot and highchair which made life so much easier. There was even a toy tractor and bicycle for him to ride on. We had an excellent relaxing stay and felt so looked after. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Anne and the great care she took to ensure we had the best time.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor L
1 review
“Finn cottage excellent base”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

plenty of space for 6, well equipped kitchen, good wifi
3 bath rooms one as a wet room another with shower the last shower over bath all with good pressure, zone controlled heating and Ample off the road parking

On the down side we had a few teething problems which were all taken on board by our host who was on hand and very helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: power shower and large open space living area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeloJay
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We visited Northern Ireland with extended family who originally came from Strabane visiting relatives in the area and used Finn Cottages as a base during our stay.

This was our first visit to N Ireland and surprised as to why we have not visited before!!

What can I say about Finn Cottages; This was way beyond our expectations and that all of us enjoyed our short stay; the bedrooms, living and dining areas were tastefully furnished to a very high standard. There was ample space for a BBQ; a games room and the owner, Anne could not have been more helpful. We could see that she is a person, who looks into every detail with regard to the cottages and wants to make the guests so welcome that they would be happy to return and we do believe that we will be back one day.

The cottages are an ideal place to have as a base to visit friends and relations; travel within the area and also to go across the border to Southern Ireland. The scenery is breath-taking and so are the beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole atmosphere.
Liked least: No negative comments.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CML42
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottages-couldn't have been more comfortable. Thoroughly recommend”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in May 2013

We travelled as an extended family group (ages 13 up to 80 years) visiting relatives in the Strabane area and could not have wished for better accommodation and service. We booked Finn and Derg Cottages and were delighted with everything about our stay. Anne could not have been more helpful -right from our very first enquiry we experienced the very best of service and hospitality. She is meticulous in her attention to detail and did everything possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible, even making sure that we had groceries in to get the weekend off to a great start.

The accommodation is spotless, extremely comfortable and beautifully presented in every way. It is obvious that Anne takes great pride in her properties and personally oversees every aspect of the design, cleaning and maintenance. The only thing that we would have changed was the length of our stay-two nights is just not enough to enjoy all that these beautiful cottages have to offer.
We are delighted that we have another family gathering planed soon and so we have an excuse to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the cottages
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lau621
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolute treat to stay in such a magical location....”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Well me and my family have just returned from our stay in Finn Valley Cottages and I am already planning on returning! They were of top quality standard and very spacious with everything you need. There were 6 of us staying in the 3 bedroom cottage and it was more than big enough not to be falling over one another's feet. The coal burner was an added extra which we all loved. The location was also really central for our visit as we were visiting family in the south aswell as north of ireland. The views from the cottages are also breath taking.

Anne offered a 1st class service right from making enquiries with booking to arrive/leaving - Anne could not had made us more welcome, she took the time to make sure there was bread n milk on arrival and also chatted away to us throughout wkend. Not often you get such a warm friendly welcome, so thanks Anne.
I cant wait to return mid-June!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and quality of cottage
Liked least: bottom room was colder than other rooms although did heat up throughout evening
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Thank-you for your comments. Delighted that you and your family had such a great time and that all the celebrations went so well. Looking forward to seeing you again in the summer. Best wishes, Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing