We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Skipton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie E
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Beautiful comfortable cottage in an excellent location. We came for Grassington Christmas market and Skipton market and the cottatge was well placed for both. Everything we needed was there, comfy beds and plenty of space for 6 of us. Skipton an easy walk along the tow path so no need to struggle in with the car. Would definitely like to visit in the summer and do some exploring of the surrounding area. Many thanks to the owners.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul U
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage near Skipton”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Niffany Barn when we attended a friend's Friday wedding in the area, with 6 of us looking to make a weekend of it. We would highly recommend Jennette and these recent additions to her farm.

Although we didn't see Jennette in person, communication by e-mail and 'phone was good, and she was flexible in accommodating our arrival time.

The location is great: we walked into Skipton for dinner on the Sat evening (~25 minute walk via canal towpath or road), and took advantage of the proximity to the dales going for a 3 hour circular walk out from the front door taking in Thorlby, Sharp Haw, and the towpath towards Liverpool.

The cottage itself is well appointed. After a long day of dancing and ushering we very much appreciated the comfortable beds, and on the rainy Sat morning we took full advantage of the 1st floor living room with it's reclining chairs, wood burning stove (with wood provided), and views of the canal, hills, and garden.

All the rooms were very clean, everything worked, and there was enough parking for our three cars.

Many thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frieman
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“16 happy legs”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Located on the side of the Leeds to Liverpool canal we all found Niffany an ideal site for the Dales . You can walk into Skipton town in around 25 minutes or head the other way to Gargrave around 4 miles will take around 80 minutes along the tow path . The upside down accommadation gives great views of the canal and beyond . All bedrooms are clean and good sized with comfortable beds . Upstairs theres a large lounge with multifuel stove and reclining sofa,s the kitchen follows suit been well appointed along with bathroom with bath and shower .Outside there is small paved area with seating ,gas BBQ,small raised grass area and parking for two cars
Visited Malham cove , great for walking and lunched at The Lister Arms (Butchers board recommended) . Keelham farm shop a short drive is good for your groceries or eating out . Also on site are a row of three new cottages and a caravan and camping site . Thoroughly enjoyed our stay with two generations and two dogs

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Holiday Let”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Niffany Barn is situated on a working farm next to the Leeds Liverpool Canal. The property is new and well furnished. It is well equipped and the owners are pleasant and helpful. the property allows holidaymakers to take their pets. The lounge has a multi-fuel stove which makes the room warm and cosy. The heating system is efficient and keeps the property warm. It is an ideal spot for a holiday in the Yorkshire Dales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition of the property and the friendliness of the owners
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prchezza
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location for the Dales”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Clean, comfortable and welcoming. The barn is on a working farm next to the Leeds & Liverpool canal. The walk into Skipton (30 mins) along the towpath is picturesque and interesting. The property has the bedrooms on the ground floor with the large lounge and kitchen / dining room upstairs, which might deter the infirm. Strong wi-fi signal. Niffany Barn is close to the Skipton by-pass which makes it ideal for exploring the Dales without having to drive through the town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the sheltered courtyard in the sunshine. Feeding the hens.
Liked least: Noisy fridge-freezer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Niffany Barn, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It is lovely to hear you had everything you needed to hand inside the property and that the situation was also to your liking, being able to walk through beautiful scenery to reach Skipton sounds great! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing