We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs.”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Ranked #4 of 118 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In idyllic grounds, The Crown Inn Broughton is a charming pub restaurant, housed in a Grade II Listed building. In a homely and cosy setting, The Crown offers traditional, hearty fare and local produce. Modern and welcoming, the bar offers a handpicked wine list, along with cider, spirits and regular guest ales. The lounge area has a comfortable seating area and a warm, cosy ambience. The traditional menu has a modern twist and uses fresh, seasonal produce, with delicious dishes that include pan Venison haunch, roast root vegetables, cavolo nero, violet potatoes or pan roasted Cod, bubble and squeak, braised leeks with a spinach and parsley sauce. There is also a list of exciting specials, while the tempting dessert menu features sweets like Butterscotch crème brulee with lemon shortbread or warm apple,blackberry, hazlenut crumble tart with clotted cream ice cream. In the Cambridgeshire countryside. The Crown Inn is close to St. Ives and Huntingdon and is just off both the A1/A14
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Always a great experience, at the Crown Inn. The entire group of staff are so inviting. And the food is amazing. I try and test the new menus as they come, and am always overwhelmed with the taste!

2  Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely welcome and great staff the pub was busy so the service was slow and my food was not hot enough however my wife’s was perfect. The pudding was a let down I was expecting home made but it looked and tasted very average. All in all ok food but when they are busy they need to be mindful of ensuring the food is hot

Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Mark E,
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Crown Inn.
May I apologise if your food was not hot enough and if course the chef us aware and will monitor this to ensure it doesn't happen again.
I am very pleased to here that your wife had a perfect meal and you both received friendly excellent service even though we are very busy.
With regards to the puddings may I assure you that it is all made on site and sometimes we try things and they don't work as well as one had hoped. However the plus of being an independent run business me and I can change items if they are not working and as it happens some of the starters and desserts we had already discussed will be changing this week.

Thanks once again,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Had a really nice table in the bow window. Nice welcome, staff obviously pay attention to setting the table nicely, glasses were all sparkly clean, and proper napkins too. Menu varied, something to please everyone. Only downside was that food was served with either mash or chips, would have liked new potatoes or baked potato, Food is prepared from fresh, and well worth waiting for. We decided to go straight to the main course rather than have a starter. Bavette steak, seafood platter, ribs and smoked haddock were our choices. All were cooked to perfection. Puds were good too, poached pear, and a shared cheeseboard, lovely, but again, would have been good to have a fresh fruit salad choice or similar. Brilliant choice of a la carte, Pub menu, and specials board. A good all-rounder, lovely atmosphere. Definitely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Short31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBurrell, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Short31,
Thank you very much for the kind review and I am really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us here at The Crown Inn. Just for reference if I may if you would like another type of potato as long as its on the menu then it is no problem to swap it. So we may not of had new potatoes or jackets but you could of had violeta potatoes or garlic gratin potatoes as well as hand cut chips or a mash.

Kind regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Visited in July for a birthday and was really impressed by the service and the food.

Very much worth a visit and we’ll definitely be back.

Thank R0cky__0H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBurrell, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Crown inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We visited The Crown for parents 50th wedding anniversary meal. From the second we entered we felt at home, such friendly and considerate people. We had a lovely table near the bar which they had decorated for us as well. Could not fault the food and attention, we all had a super evening. There was a mix up with an order as one of our party ordered the wrong haddock but it was changed quickly without any fuss or problems. Great child's menu too and there was also delicious vegetarian options for the obligatory non meat eater. Complimentary bottle of prosecco was presented at the end of the meal which really made the evening, can't thank you enough. We are looking forward to coming back!

Thank Kazzabella74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBurrell, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Kazzabella74,
It was our pleasure to look after your family on this amazing landmark occasion.

Kind regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing