We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not buy fried bread again”
Review of Stumpy's

Stumpy's
Ranked #4 of 6 Quick Bites in Kawakawa
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 January 2024

Date: Jan 3rd 2024.
Time: lunch hour
Ordered: Fish N Chips, Yummy
Raw fish, Yummy
4 fried bread, very doughy, raw flour particles, very unedible

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GoPlaces33428048030
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2023

Absolutely shocking 1 person waited 30mins for 2 bits of fish we had to wait 45mins for aw order.
Will not be back

Date of visit: September 2023
1  Thank Happiness54946578029
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2023

Great food. Staff excellent and friendly. Easy to find and park. Fish tasted very fresh and cooked perfect.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank Row M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2022

We stopped on our journey to satisfy our craving for fish and chips. Very busy so had quite a wait but the orders were all being attended to promptly. Seemed to be mostly locals here. The fish was fresh but overall the batter and chips were too oily for our liking, could not face the idea of eating fish and chips again within the next week or so. Staff were efficient but not all that friendly to visitors. Not rude, just not friendly.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lpl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2021

What I had intended to be a quick pit stop wound up taking over an hour… not a reflection of any slow service at all. Despite numerous orders from all the local folk gathered here the service was rather quick. The snapper I ordered was fresh, not oily, with a crisp batter. What I enjoyed just as much was the conversation the staff invited me in on. If you think the Hindewasser is eclectic try this place on a Friday night.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank one_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Stumpy's also viewed

Kawakawa, Northland Region
Kawakawa, Northland Region
 
Kawakawa, Northland Region
Kawakawa, Northland Region
 

Been to Stumpy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.