We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Kawiti Caves
from US$129.11
More Info
from US$89.66
More Info
from US$129.11
More Info
from US$121.93
More Info
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
333
97
15
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
333
97
15
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worms bush walk family run milky way new zealand small group guided tour cave system great tour personal tour local family car park short walk the main road lanterns stalactites boardwalk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2020

Great tour. Really well set up experience. Knowledgeable guide and great coffee available plus clean toilets. Caves were awesome. Good value for money tour. Glad we stopped in.

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank JanineM1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2020

An excellent experience for us and our 6 year old. Our guide was knowledgeable and funny. Even though the end part of the cave system was under renovation, the half hour tours was just right. We spent some time outside in the surrounding areas, very beautiful.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank Compass553439
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

Unfortunately, due to flooding we couldn’t enjoy the full experience but what we saw was so worthwhile. The full experience included a native bush walk assessable from the top of the cave which had been blocked. Our guide (a member of the original family) was interesting and knowledgeable. And the spectacular glowworms looked like a miniature version of the Milky Way!

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank annieskilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2020

Truly an awesome sight. A full galaxy of glow worms above our heads. It was amazing. Our tour guide was a super friendly chap, very knowledgeable on the caves history.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank dawnrG9943SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2020

Quite costly for a shortish tour but worth it if you've got the discretionary dollars. This 30-minute walk into the caves (the full walk through to the other side wasn't available due to flooding) gave us plenty of opportunity to see the glowworms and cave formations and to hear all the interesting stuff the tour guide (whose grandfather opened the caves to the public in the 1940s) told us. The kids (2 and 6) were a little scared when we had to turn off the torches and a bit bored listening to the tour guide in the dark, but the grownups absolutely loved it. An added bonus is that it's unspoilt and not too busy and the location is wonderful, with a walk available up the hill where you can view the limestone exteriors.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank beautmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews