We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find”
Review of 39 Gillies Street

39 Gillies Street
Ranked #1 of 6 Quick Bites in Kawakawa
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 January 2021

Great spot for delicious food, try the date scone! Right opposite the famous hundertwasser toilets. Tops.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Bobbytnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

Came up to Kawakawa with a friend, one daughter for my birthday lunch with my daughter who works at the local hospital
Arrived just before 1pm, friend, working daughter and I ordered out of the cabinet while other daughter stayed outside with her dog
When she went it was a couple of minutes before 1,but assistant was making coffee, so it was 3 mins after 1 when she tried to order off the menu, only to be told the kitchen was closed, and she would have to get something out of cabinet, there was little left and nothing she wanted
Felt very disappointed and it put dampener on our day
The coffee was watery and my pani was not heated right through
Staff attitude was to just shrug their shoulders
We hear all the time of how places are struggling, with this attitude this place does not deceive to survive

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank brendanorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2020 via mobile

A great place to stop for coffee on the Twin Coast Northland cycle trip, unfortunately we didn’t get to experience the wonderful food we had been told about as we got there at 12.45pm and the kitchen shuts at 1pm. A shame as they lost out on a lot of business for a Saturday lunchtime in the school holidays - maybe next time

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank penelopep308
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2020

Atomic Roast Coffee always a win.
Gay friendly and pleasant banter.
Fresh baked food and a view of those famous loos💚

Date of visit: May 2020
1  Thank Cathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

Good for keto people! Delicious vegetarian keto pizza, good coffee, friendly service
Can sit outside and see the train go down the center of the road!

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank sallyc847
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed 39 Gillies Street also viewed

Kawakawa, Northland Region
Kawakawa, Northland Region
 
Kawakawa, Northland Region
 

Been to 39 Gillies Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.