We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a wonderful location, we'll...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Trethowell Cottage

Trethowell Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trethowell Cottage
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Trethowell Cottage
Living room
Living room
Dining area
Kitchen with breakfast table
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Main bathroom
Shade in the sunshine
Pretty back garden
Garden seat
The rear view of the cottage
Surrounding farm land
View of the quiet lane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Truro, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
john c
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a wonderful location, we'll be back!”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were delighted when we arrived at Trethowell Cottage - it was even better than it looked on the website. A lovely cottage, full of character but with all mod cons. Very secluded, in a quiet location but within easy reach of Truro. Beautifully presented, clean and well-equipped. Lovely gardens, with great views, plenty of seating and a BBQ. Comfortable bedrooms with plenty of storage space. Loved all the artwork on the walls. We enjoyed cooking pasties in the Rayburn - it's easy to use but there are alternative cooking arrangements too! My son was delighted that the wifi worked really well. Thoroughly recommended, we will definitely be going back to Trethowell Cottage next time we're in Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for this review, we work really hard alongside our housekeepers to keep everything clean and to make sure everything works. It is great when guests take the time to say how much they have enjoyed their stay and especially when they want to return. We love our cottage and it is very rewarding to hear that our guests do too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Cottage.”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cottage is clean and cosy. It has a country charm with a kitchen Rayburn. It is well furnished with everything you will need for an enjoyable stay. It is pleasantly isolated but only a few minutes from Truro. I would thoroughly recommend staying here for a comfortable, memorable family holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thanks David, reviews like this make all the hard work behind the scenes worthwhile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aswdjw737...
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This delightful cottage on a country lane is only a few minutes from Truro. Using our Sat. Nav. and the owners very clear directions we found Trethowell Cottage on a quiet country lane. Prior to our arrival the owner sent us a very clear briefing on the property which was very helpful. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay (everything is new). Our young children loved playing in the garden. The location of the cottage is great for touring all of Cornwall's beautiful attractions without a long drive. The stone cottage spoils you with views of tidal waters and a picturesque country valley. The cottage is tastefully decorated with a modern country theme. It is well maintained and impeccably clean. We couldn't have picked a better property for our family holiday to Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It has everything you need, impeccably clean, beautiful views and great location.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage and great location”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Upon arrival, we found the cottage clean and tidy with spectacular views of the countryside. All the rooms were well laid out and with all the equipment you could ask for. The location was perfect for travelling around Cornwall. Most trips from the cottage were less than 30 minutes away by car making this an ideal base to travel around the countryside. Also, by being less than 5 minutes away from the centre of Truro you had all the facilities required on your doorstep. Good communication with the owner from the beginning. Fantastic views from the rear of the cottage looking over farmers fields with sheep and cows going down towards the river and from the front a nice quiet country lane. I would thoroughly recommend this cottage to couples and families and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location
Liked least: Nothing - everything was great
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat J
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 19 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have just had a blisful week at this pretty and peaceful cottage. It stands on a hill with stunning views of the countryside. So handy to have Truro city just 5 minutes away.
The cottage is very well equiped and simply but stylishly furnished. A pleasure to sit down in front of a really good TV with the log burner adding atmosphere. The kitchen is a joy with a Rayburn oven (simple to use) and everything you could need, even some Champagne flutes. When we arrived the place was well presented and very clean. Comfortable bedrooms too. We will definately be coming back to this lovely place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;