We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect relaxing off grid getaway”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Clawdd Newydd, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
PatronSil...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing off grid getaway”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Our second visit to this wonderful cottage, after nearly 2 years time difference we were amazed and pleased to find that the high standard of finish achieved by Bruce and Catrin had been kept and looked after by their Patrons.
Upon arrival the welcome pack of Fresh Eggs, Fizz, Mulled Wine, Chocolate Cake, and a box of Milk Tray plus other essentials to get you going for your first day.

Catrin came to see we were settled in ok and to ensure we had everything we needed for our stay, giving the level of comfort that they were on hand if needed ,which we did when the snow came down, we needed a hand getting up the hill out on to the main road , Bruce helped with a smile and joke.

A leaving gift of fresh eggs was much appreciated , the double yolks keep coming.

This a place where we will keep returning.

Thank you Catrin and Bruce

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Cottage”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have stayed in many holiday cottages over the years and this is definitely the best yet. The cottage was spotlessly clean and is finished to a very high standard with everything you need for a very comfortable stay.

On arrival we found a bottle of wine in the wine cooler, eggs, milk, a cake and a box of chocolates. We came to realise that this is typical of the attention to detail that the owners display. This the only cottage we have stayed in where the owners have popped by during the week to make sure everything was to our satisfaction.

The hot tub was a perfect way to finish a day of site seeing. With easy Bluetooth connection to a phone or ipad, you can lie back look at the countryside and listen to your favourite music.

Wifi is included as are smart TVs in each bedroom and the lounge.

Access to the cottage is off a winding narrow lane so slow careful driving is necessary but during the week of our stay we only met an oncoming car twice. When you first arrive you wonder where you are going but take it steady and you'll be fine. You don't need to go far on the narrow lane.

Within about an hour's drive there is plenty to do. Chester Zoo is well worth a visit and you can easily get to Llanberis for a trip on the Snowdon railway (just hope for good weather!).

Superb accommodation, lovely views, a hot tub, considerate owners, easily access to attractions. The only thing we didn't like was having to come home so soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So Good We've Now Been Twice”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is pure luxury, the attention to detail is second to none and the hot tub is the icing on the cake.
The owners are really friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have all you need.
The location is remote enough to get away from it all but close enough to many of Wales's greatest attractions, Snowdonia, Zip Wires, Go Ape, the Electric Mountain and many more..
We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
946Sharon...
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OMG - What a beautiful place”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at this little piece of heaven, hidden away in the Welsh hills.
The cottage itself is finished to the highest spec and has absolutely everything you could possible need for happy and comfy break. Beautiful rooms, all ensuite, comfy beds, crisp fresh bed linen, fridge, freezer, washer dryer, microwave, wine cooler and the fantastic hot tub.
The hosts Catrin and Bruce could not do enough for you and were so friendly and welcoming. The little welcome gifts were very much appreciated, as well as the delicious fresh eggs.
We chose to go here to get away from it all and chill out - lived in our pjs or swimsuits the whole weekend, but I believe there are lots of lovely places to go not too far away
I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPenningt...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Absolute Delight”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and 5 friends spent a long weekend in this hidden gem. A wonderful property, with spacious rooms, each with en-suites. The kitchen and living area is fantastic and the wood burner keeps you warm during the winter. The hot tub is superb and allows you to sit out and enjoy the views. The owners were very friendly and helpful, providing us with a courtesy visit to check everything was okay and whether we required anything or any help. The location of the cottage is quite remote and a great place to stay to get away from the world! We're disappointed we had to leave and are certain to stay again in the future and would have no reservations in recommending this property to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was faultless
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing