We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, fantastic cottage it was...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Westbury on Severn, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Becky E
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, fantastic cottage it was perfect!!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We had such a fantastic weekend, their was eleven of us in our group and everyone was so impressed with the Cottage. It is in a beautiful location, great for lovely walks and close enough to go into Cheltenham for a great night out . The cottage itself was perfect, all of the rooms were lovely and had everything we needed. The owner was fantastic he was so helpful before we went, answering any questions we had about the area. While we were there again he was so helpful couldn't do enough for us to make our weekend perfect. Can't forget the hot tub that was amazing, i'm going to miss my daily dip in the hot tub!!!!. We will be returning it was excellent in every way couldn't fault anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itslikeca...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Landlord is watching you!!!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
17
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with a great bunch of people over the New Year period.
The house was adequate for our needs, with plenty of space for our group not to feel like we were on top of each other.... However it would seem we were on top of the landlord who kept a very watchful eye on the goings on in his house.
Almost as soon as we arrived he demanded extra money for the deposit (£100 to £200) as we had extra people coming to the house for New Years eve.
We used fire lanterns on New Years eve (which were biodegradable) which according to the landlord count as fire works, and we were smoking outside, in an area which had a very very discrete no smoking sign. For these reasons we were asked to leave on New Years morning.
We were given a two hour eviction by the landlord and his mate, with a threat from the police.
Throughout our stay we treated his house with complete respect and left it in a better state than we found it. We asked if he would come and look at the house before we left, but he claimed he was on a walk, rather predictably our deposit isn't being refunded as apparently a sink was blocked, nor will we get money back from the nights we lost in the house.
This house wasn't cheap to rent at all for this period, even between 14 people.
Please do not stay here! Unless you've ever wondered what its like to live in big brother!

Liked best: Being with Friends
Liked least: The Landlord not coming to talk to us in a civilised fashion
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2013
Thank you for your review. The Owner contacted us during your stay as he had some concerns about activity at the property. The removal of furniture from the house to be used as seating in an external location, incidents of smoking and the over-occupancy in the property, despite reminders, resulted in the Owner contacting us to advise that he would like the property to be vacated as soon as possible in accordance with the terms and conditions of the booking. Due to these breaches, the Owner was within his rights to carry out such action and this negates any claim for compensation or reimbursement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Reviewed 6 December 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
erictrott...
salisbury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice holiday ruined by the owners, choose another house!”
Reviewed 10 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012
13
people found this review helpful

Stayed with a group of friends including children.The owner demanded £100 cash as security deposit on first day, without any details of what this covered (or a receipt). When we left the property it took over two weeks to receive a cheque back, and a deduction had been made for an item that was already broken on our arrival. The owner refused to even take our calls or return our texts and Sykes holidays were no help whatsoever.

Be warned,DO NOT GIVE THIS MAN YOUR MONEY, there are plenty of other holiday cottages that do not have this policy, choose one of them. The owner behaved outrageously and we have no way of getting our money back,

Other points: the owners son took upon himself to shout at one of the children who dared to cross an invisible line into the owners garden (she was in fact in the 'shared paddock area')
We were told to keep the noise down (it was a 12 person family house in summer with outdoor bbq)
On the last night we were informed (by text) that we were expected to take all our rubbish and recycling to the recycling centre, a 45 minute round trip) before departure at 10.00am The oven would not work on the first night, so we had to order an expensive 12 person takeaway, the owner arrived the following day and showed us how to make it work (switch was broken) and said, "I should really leave a note attached to explain that",

On last day when confronted with all these queries we were told by the owner that we "should have referred to the guest manual", which (by the owner's wife's admission) the house did not have.

If you choose to stay here, good luck, because I do not know how you will ever prove that the items allegedly broken in the house were not down to you. It is our opinion that the owner sought to recondition the house at our expense.We paid a lot of money to rent this house and we would never rent a holiday home from this owner again. We have given him many opportunities to clarify why part of our deposit was retained, but now after 2 months we have given up and this honest review is our only way of expressing our disappointment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: good family sized house and garden
Liked least: attitude of the owner and his family,
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Reviewed 14 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing