We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,156)
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveller rating
787
267
78
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
787
267
78
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool is both breakfast and dinner terrific restaurant every evening garden setting for more than one night minute drive two sinks easy access to avignon lovely property rooms are beautiful euros per person beautiful oasis bit dated coffee machine room was large avignon center
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,156 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

The hotel itself is very nice, we were offered a welcome drink on arrival and our room was large, quiet and comfortable. There are rabbits hopping around the grounds which is a nice touch and the garden was well kept, as was the pool and spa area. We spent a lovely hour alone in the spa one evening, but once a few other couples turn up it quickly gets crowded. The pool is very relaxing and clean but it's a shame that towels aren't provided and there is no pool service to order drinks/food.
In the room, there was a coffee machine (although limited pods) and tea making facilities which was welcome, but the minibar was extortionate (8 euros for a can of beer!).
In the bathroom, no conditioner was provided and the hairdryer was like something you get at a public swimming pool- quite disappointing. However the bathroom itself was large and well fitted with a separate toilet.
The location is in a fairly bleak suburb of Avignon, we walked to Avignon one day (not recommended!) so my partner could have a drink with dinner and to be honest regretted not staying in the town. We had the impression the hotel was closer/better connected, but you really are reliant on a car here.
We ate in the restaurant one night and while the setting is lovely, the food didn't quite live up to the price tag. We went for a tasting menu as the a la carte prices were crazy (24 euros for desert!) and although we enjoyed the food and there was plenty of it, it was a bit dated and we had better food for less money elsewhere. We were also offered an aperitif to start without being shown the drinks list and were shocked to find we'd been charged 18 euros EACH for that- it's cheaper to have a cocktail at the Savoy in London!
All in all, we were quite happy with the hotel but felt that it fell below the standard expected of a 5* and overcharged on drinks and food (we didn't even bother with breakfast after seeing the prices). Bit of a shame as that tainted my view of the place.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LotteGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here three nights while in Provence. All wonderful. Friends recommended we move to Aix en Provence for the next few nights to see eastern Provence. Big mistake. We should have stayed at Auberge de Cassagne for all nights. You can reach most areas of Provence by car with in an hour drive. Auberge was fabulous. Staff was wonderful including Sebastian who greeted us, helped us with our bags and made us feel so welcome. We left some things in the room and the entire staff helped us in getting them back.

Thank you team. You are wonderful. Rick D.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
693, Propriétaire at Auberge de Cassagne & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to publish your review and for your lovely comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to retrieve your personal items left at the hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours.


Sylvie et Philippe BOUCHER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

We visited the Auberge de Cassagne & Spa a friday night, having drove all day. The staff was very friendly and professional, and the food simply excellent. Our 2 kids were pampered, and their parents too. Don't miss this gem, just outside Avignon!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mads L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassagne84130, Propriétaire at Auberge de Cassagne & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to publish your review and for your lovely comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our Gastronomic restaurant.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future for a longer stay.

Sincerely yours.

Sylvie et Philippe BOUCHER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

The staff, grounds, pool 5 star the distance from old town and the room lowered it to 4 star and the restaurant was expensive with an expensive wine list which I think was a little over my budget, the breakfast was super, the room floor was damp and just the slight sense of needing a good airing. The pool at night all lite up was absolutely beautiful and the grounds were wonderful but it was hard to get to old town as GPS took you down streets that ended without a turn around and without GPS we would be a week looking for our way back. If you want to stay close but not in town this is the place

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassagne84130, Propriétaire at Auberge de Cassagne & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to publish your review and for your comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our staff, grounds and pool during your stay with us.
It is possible to order a taxi to go downtown. It takes only 10 minutes.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours.


Sylvie et Philippe BOUCHER


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

A beautiful oasis near to Avignon. we have spend 4 wonderful nights in this charming hotel. The restaurant is of excellent quality and the staff is very charming. Specialy the wine list is of excellent quality and the sommeliers surprised us with excellent choices. Highly recommended! We will come back!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassagne84130, Propriétaire at Auberge de Cassagne & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to publish your review and for your lovely comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our Gastronomic restaurant.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours.


Sylvie et Philippe BOUCHER


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews