We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Place To Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upstairs Balcony Off Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
Upstairs Balcony Off Master Bedroom
View from Upstairs Balcony
Front Porch with swinging chair
Covered Patio
Side view with wooded area to the front
Side View with covered patio area to the rear
Clover Cabin
Childrens play area
Childrens Tree House
Master Bedroom with Adjoining Balcony
Adjoining the Master Bedroom is a kids room 2 x 70cm x 160cm Beds
Double Room Downstairs
Fully Stocked Kitchen
Bathroom Adjoining the Kids Bedroom
Counter Bar and Log Fire
Living Area
Extendable Dining Table Sits 6
Large sand/beach area down at the pond
Winter At the Cabin
Cabin at night
Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gowran, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
EugeneCon...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place To Stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here for two nights in September and what a great place it is. It's so peaceful and quiet and the cabin itself is immaculate with everything you could wish for supplied. The welcome pack of homemade scones and apple juice are a lovely touch. It's ideally located about 10 minutes drive to Kilkenny with plenty to see and do close by. Will definitely be going back. Would recommend this to anyone from couples to families because there is a playground for kids and plenty of board games to keep the young ones occupied. Once again thank you Fergal and Annette

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Thank You for your kind review
Hope to see you again
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul-Roma...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you need for a Perfect Family Retreat”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We came based on a recommendation from previous guests; and we were not disappointed. Comfortable, well-equipped, clean and private. Lots of outdoor play options for our two young kids, including tree-houses, swings, pedal tractors and a "mini-beach". A particularly great amenity is the large covered area for all-weather activities (playing, running, BBQ, etc.). The location is great for access to Kilkenny town and surrounding points of interest.

Clover Cabin is perfectly suitable for a stay at any time of year and we will most certainly be returning.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you kindly for your very nice review . We shall look forward to welcoming you to the cabin again.
Fergal and Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanith201...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely private cabin”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a lovely week at clover cabin with 3 kids under 7yrs
Scones and essentials on arrival. There was tea and coffee and a lovely bottle of local apple juice too.
The kitchen was well equipped, there were plenty of towels, the place was spotless.
The photos make the place look a lot smaller than it is!

We had fab weather for our week but managed to 'need' the log burner one night which was so cosy and all the fuel etc was provided. Even if it had rained the back patio area was fully covered and tiled floor which would have meant the kids could still go out and play.

The front porch with the swing and rocking chair were just like a scene from a movie :)
The place was quiet and the little village shop had anything we needed

We visited Kilkenny and Waterford City as well as Jerpoint Abbey, Kells Priory, Gowran Church, Kilkenny Castle, as well as the local Reptile Zoo. There were lots of places I would have visited if we had been there longer.

The kids loved the swings and play houses in the garden but one was a bit dangerous for my youngest two just because it was high with a firemans pole at the top, my girls needed supervision on this one but my son (7) was fine, he loved it.

The stairs in the cabin were steep for my youngest two (3 and 5-low muscle tone) there was a stair gate at the top but they could easily open it and both girls fell down the last few steps even with me coming behind them so I needed to make sure they were being very careful.
The door locks opened easily from the inside, and I have one child who wanders at night so I had to make sure they couldn't get access to the upstairs balcony or get downstairs at night time. There was no safety lock or key lock for my piece of mind.

That said, it was a fab cabin and if you are staying with older kids or none at all then it's not an issue.

We met both Fergal and Annette briefly on our visit and they were lovely people, their boys even called round one evening to play with my son.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thank you very much for your kind informative review. These are very valid points about access outside small children may have as indeed the stairs. We embrace constructive remarks and shall address these immediately . Thanks again ,Fergal and Annette.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth R
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“you simply have to stay here!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband says I have 'high standards' after years of luxury hotel breaks so when he suggested a self catering family holiday in a log cabin for the two of us and our 2 & 4 year old boys, he was a little wary as to how it would pan out! Little did he know that he had just booked the holiday of our lives! I cannot fault Clover Cabin. We met both Fergal and Annette during our stay and they are such nice down to earth people. The cabin itself is simply amazing! It is unusual to find a place to stay that caters perectly for both adults and children but Clover Cabin does just that. Our boys didn't stop for a second during the days making use of the fantastic tree house, swings, slides etc not to mention the mini beach! When it came to bed time they were so exhausted that they slept like 'logs' in their perfectly laid out room complete with blackout blinds. This is when we put the feet up with a glass (or two!) of wine and I can safely say I have never felt more relaxed. The cabin is both rustic & luxurious at the same time. Fergal & Annette have thought of everything, just when you think 'I could do with a ..........' you open a drawer and there it is! The cabin is approx 10 minute drive to Kilkenny city which has so much to offer but there is also the local village of Gowran where you can pick up everything you need in the Quick Pick store where the lady even has the cúpla focal much to my Irish speaking husbands delight! I recommend Glasraí & Goodies, a gorgeous local shop selling delicious local artisan treats! We were very fortunate with the weather during our week long stay but I can imagine Clover Cabin being suitable for all weather conditions with indoor games provided and the tv/dvd to keep you entertained. I will definitely be returning again and I highly recommend it to anyone with or without children. Thank you Fergal & Annette.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
thanks you so much for your review
we are delighted you had such a great time at the cabin
looking forward to welcoming you back in the future
Fergal & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gkarberg
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
“The BEST place to stay in Ireland”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a great stay, the place is beautiful and is perfect for families or a couple. Kilkenny has so much to do, but we traveled away from the cabin, you can be in Wicklow in 1 1/2 hours or Waterford in an hour. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed. We usually ate breakfast and dinner in the cabin. The owners are wonderful people and take care of everything. If you want a peaceful, beautiful place to stay this is it. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: We liked everything.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
We really are very flattered by your comment the best place in ireland , i,m sure your correct! Thank you so much and looking forward to greeting you and your pleasant family again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$111
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing