We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow, wow, wow. Perfect, pet friendly historical...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Talgarth

Talgarth from lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Talgarth from lane
Talgarth Historic House 1660 Grade 2* Master en-suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Talgarth from lane
Talgarth Historic House 1660 Grade 2*
Master en-suite
Master Bedroom
Parlour
Parlour
Library
Library
Dining room
Middle Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Corridor between bathroom and bedrooms
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Summer house
Summer house
Attic en-suite
Attic bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Trefeglwys, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
timetofly...
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow. Perfect, pet friendly historical home”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had high expectations of Talgarth from the photo's and we loved it. The house oozes warmth, history and age. A great lay out lots of space for the 6 of us and 2 dogs. The house is furnished and decorated in character but by no means dated. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could possibly need, the beds are comfortable with 2 ensuite and 2 sharing a bathroom across the landing. The library and lounge welcoming, warm and great to relax in. We didn't use the dining room but chose to eat in the kitchen which was perfect. The garden and outdoor space are great (and enclosed for dogs), plenty of room to park numerous cars and the garden room is just perfect to slip away to and have some "me time". 2 staircases caused great confusion to our dogs as we chose to swap and change which ones we went up and then came down just to confuse them as they waited in the kitchen
The owners were great from first communication to us leaving and were extremely helpful and very patient as we sorted out the exact dates of our booking.
You can walk out into the lanes or go further a field. The local pub is easy walking distance even with a wheelchair. Check the opening times as it didn't open in the day in the week when we were there and dogs are allowed in the beer garden.
Hafren Forest is a short drive away with a variety of options of walks to do varying from 45 minutes to 3.5 hours.
We were very lucky with the weather. One morning of rain and the rest of the time lovely and hot.
A perfect holiday home and we hope to go back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123janey1...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Talgarth - absolutely Stunning!”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Talgarth with our two huskies in September , and as soon as we drove up the lane and caught a glimpse of beautiful Talgarth -i fell in love with it! The house is stunning, the gardens, the area , the views, perfect for one of the most relaxing holidays ever . The house is grand but homely with lovely furnishings, and decor , each room beautiful like stepping back in time. The dogs stayed in the kitchen area after walks ,and in the evening lay in the library snug room with us where we relaxed in front of the roaring fires. We had our wood from Martin at a very reasonable price and there was plenty for the week.
The house is very well equipped, and it was lovely that the owners Mike and Vivian left us a note and a welcome bottle of wine.We felt so at home i could have lived there for ever!
The dogs loved playing every morning in the garden but even though the gardens are enclosed well i was wary of the dogs getting through the hedges somehow at the sheep in the opposite fields and next door so kept an eye on them closely and never left them out alone which is a pity and the main area was quite hard for them to walk on with it being shale but thats because huskies have sensitive feet!
The summer house was brilliant as we could play darts and listen to music inside while the dogs relaxed on the forecourt and i could imagine lovely family times there in the summer
We found lovely walks at nearby woods and visited Hafren forest which is also stunning, clean and well cared for , where we did lots of walking and exploring- the dogs loved it there , in the waterfalls and running through the woods ,and llandiloes had good shops for provisions and was a pretty little town with friendly people.
There is nothing to fault with Talgarth , the area, the house , the fact that dogs are allowed in such a beautiful place and the lovely owners who keep the house maintained so beautifully and i feel so lucky to have spent a week in Talgarth , hope to stay again and will always remember it fondly so thank you Mike and Vivian!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you to Talgarth again in the future, you were the perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Turn back the centuries in idyllic Welsh home”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Wow, what a treat to stay in such an incredible house - and it's even more impressive in real life than it looks in the photos. Between us, we've stayed in over 40 holiday cottages, and this one is certainly right up there. You feel like you're living out a piece of history, but with all the creature comforts you'd expect in a top of the range holiday let. Our only gripe was discovering on arrival that the twin room and one double room (the one without the en suite) are actually separated by an open doorway with only a curtain across it - we moved a wardrobe to give a bit more privacy, but it wasn't ideal, and we did feel this should have been made clear in the description. Having said that, the rest of the house was fantastic. With two sitting rooms, there is masses of space for everyone to spread out and the summerhouse was a wonderful bonus - we ate in there every night and the dartboard was a great distraction. The beds and settees are really comfy and the whole house is absolutely perfect for a peaceful, relaxing holiday. What's more, the area is incredibly beautiful and varied. We all fell in love with the stunning countryside and local towns, especially Llanidloes, where we had some fantastic - and very reasonable - meals. Oh, and don't miss the kayaking at Abermule near Newtown, a wonderful and memorable experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space, sense of history
Liked least: Finding out two rooms were adjoining and had no door between them; lighting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind feed back, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful house, no one has mentioned the curtain over the inter connecting doorway as a problem before, however now you mention it we can see how it might be an issue to some people, we will be looking to replace it now with an oak door.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony d
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime tranquility”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Location: Amongst some of the finest scenery in the UK. The roads are all in splendid condition and traffic is minimal.
Residence: A superb black and white building in very good order, All internal fixtures, fittings, equipment and furnishings to a very high standard. No expense has been spared in providing superb accommodation.
Ambiance: Tranquil, peaceful and relaxing a perfect place to unwind

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisBrow...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stunning Historical Property”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

One of the most stunning properties that we have stayed in. Absolutely amazing, stunning décor in keeping with the property. Lovely area, right in the centre of Wales, we will certainly return and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing