We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment in a great location with a nice...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mountain View

The Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living Room
Mountain View The Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
The Living Room
Mountain View
The Main Bedroom
The Kitchen
The Caledonian Canal
The Hall
The Dining Room
Mountain View in winter
The Wee Bedroom
The Bathroom
The Canal Towpath
Neptune's Staircase bounds the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Banavie, Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
adzg1978
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in a great location with a nice view of Ben Nevis”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have just returned from a week in Fort William and really enjoyed our stay at Mountain View.

The apartment was clean and tidy on arrival and nice and warm. The rooms are all very spacious and having a proper separate dining room was a nice touch. The kitchen was well equipped and we were able to cook proper meals every evening.

The view from the kitchen window is certainly a "Mountain View" with Ben Nevis, Carn Mor Dearg, Glen Nevis and Anoch Mor all on the horizon.

The apartment is located in Banavie which is approx 3 miles from Fort William. Neptunes Staircase is at the bottom of the garden.

Tom and Julie are very friendly and offered advice and suggestions on hiking in the area, Tom also left a selection of books and maps for reference.

All in all we had a great holiday and will certainly look to book Mountain View again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and warm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor C
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great holiday in Mountain View”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We really enjoyed our week in Mountain View. We immediately felt comfortable there, and it felt homely to return to after a day out and about. The location was excellent; better we felt than being in Fort William. The kitchen window overlooked the back garden with Neptune's staircase on the Caledonian canal at the end. On Sunday morning we awoke to see the cruise ship the Lord of the Glens passing through the locks, and went out to watch it. Apart from that you had the view of Ben Nevis from the same spot; and walks easily available - which worked well with our labrador. Meanwhile the steam train line went through the village so you could walk down to see it pass by. You must go to Glencoe, if you haven't been, it's stunning. We went to a couple of authentic Scottish music events; one in Fort William, and one in Oban. We really took to Oban too. We also found the Scottish people friendly and found ourselves easily getting into conversation with people we didn't know. All in all we will be back soon - we couldn't walk up Ben Nevis with our dog, so will have to go back without her if only for that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing really - but do note it is all upstairs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger2196
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal apartment for all Fort William attractions”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Scotland, and this property came up trumps with the location, cleanliness, facilities/equipment, furnishings, dog friendly, and above all the view of Ben Nevis from the window. Tom and Julie the owners were friendly, helpful and efficient from the time of the original booking enquiry until the end of the holiday. Tom popped round to welcome us to the apartment and Scotland. He gave us lots of information and advice on what to do and see in the whole of the highland region. The flat was very clean and comfy, with all the equipment you need especially in the kitchen. There is a large entrance lobby on the ground floor to store all your outdoor clothing, footwear, baggage and cycles etc. The main double bedroom was spacious and comfortable. The location on the banks of Neptune's Staircase was brilliant, and was a 5 minute drive from the centre of Fort William.We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely consider a return visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Although there was a modem in the kitchen we were unable to make a successful wi-fi connection
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spence8
Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely and warm, perfectly located”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Had a lovely week at Mountain View, Banavie is a perfect location from which to explore The Highlands and to have the Caledonian Canal at the bottom of the garden - superb. Lovely and warm, (though the weather wasn't) ample room for 3 of us and a dog. When my friends headed home after a couple of nights, I felt perfectly happy staying on my own. Will definitely be back and they thoroughly enjoyed the mini break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadairman
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing , warm , tidy accomadation.”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Big thanks to John for a great stay. Ideal cheap no fuss accommodation with everything you need for a holiday in the highlands. We stayed for a weeks walking and this as a base was ideal. No drying room but the place is so warm that wet cloths and boots dried quickly. Good 3g on orange. Good view of the Ben and the canal is a great setting to the rear of the property. Really recommend the place and will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home, warm and great bed.
Liked least: Needs to have a Orange dongle for faster speed. ditch that 3 thing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing