We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical and memorable family holiday”
other traveller has booked this property
Pool and main deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and main deck.
Aerial View of Ucuilagi Ucuilagi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Pool and main deck.
Aerial View of Ucuilagi
Ucuilagi
Modern, fully operational kitchen
Family room
Outdoor shower
Bedroom
View of bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bure bathroom
Entrance to rear garden.
Early morning fishing
A great catch for breakfast
Happy guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Matei, Taveuni Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate K
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical and memorable family holiday”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have recently returned from an incredible holiday at the beautiful Ucuilagi. A special family holiday with eight adults and one toddler, the entire family found the experience breathtaking - the house, the spectacular gardens and the island. We adored the managers Isoa and Pini who were very friendly and helpful. Each morning we would have fresh fruit from the property - pawpaw and limes, passionfruit and bananas. Isoa also brought us some coconuts to drink and eat.

This was a rare Fiji experience - we visited the waterfalls, had an afternoon of massages in the bure at the edge of the property, had a very memorable Lovo with Isoa's village dancers - all the beautiful children and singing - as well as a meal at Tovu Tovu on Friday night (one of the local restaurants). Such delicious and authentic Fijian food - a rarity in resorts usually.

We loved being able to see different parts of the lusciously green "garden" island and going in to town and seeing the villages. Just incredible.

The house is really well set up for a group - a perfect balance of keeping people together yet with enough spaces to get away and relax. The recently upgraded bathrooms are lovely, particularly the outside shower.

We enjoyed the balance of having the pool and being able to walk down the track to swim at the beaches nearby. We also enjoyed the balance of being able to eat out at local restaurants and being able to cook BBQ's at the house. The pizza shack at the bottom of the driveway is especially good for jugs of beer as the sun starts to go down.

The pool is cleverly fenced if you need to keep children away, which put our mind at rest with our toddler.

Ucuilagi is a beautiful, authentic house with stunning gardens and spectacular views. It is a peaceful sanctuary that we will always hold dear to us as a very memorable and special family holiday. We hope to one day visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excitedtr...
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with amazing views”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Taveuni is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to and the house looks out at a view you don't want to leave!
The house has everything you could need with big rooms, great kitchen full of utensils etc, laundry, wifi, BBQ etc and is cleaned each day.
Steve was fantastic at answering all my questions before we arrived and Isoa and Peni were welcoming hosting. Isoa was very patient and willing to drive us everywhere we needed to go and him and Peni organised a very tasty lovo and fantastic local music for our last night.
The house is on a hill so the only option to get to the beach or one local restaurant (tramonto which is great but call to say you are coming!) is down the driveway or a path which is steep but absolutely fine as long as you look where you're going. The previous review about this is a bit silly given that you can just walk down the drive instead!
Highly recommend a stay here - make sure you include plenty of time to have a beer and enjoy the view.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAlisonH
Stafford, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still breathing the air, seeing the view, feeling the peace found at Ucuilagi”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was by far the best vacation of any kind we have had. having been on several beach vacations, in several locations around the Americas, staying in many many rental homes, and at resorts, I can fairly say that this is an exceptional place. You can't help but walk into the house, look out at the grounds and the sea beyond an feel all the stress and worry drain away from your body. This is the perfect place to get away from EVERYTHING. and just relax.
A bunch of bananas welcomed us near the front door, and the foot bath with fresh flowers were two of the small delights to be found at the house daily. The helpfull and pleasant caretakers Isoa and Peni were perfect. Steve the dog and the propertys cat ( we called him Tom) were also a welcomed surprise.
I highly recomend taking advatage of a massage or two while there. Ann or Isoa can help with the booking. So much less expensive than in the states and a very very nice massage.
Isoa was very helpful when we were deciding how to spend our time on Taveuni. he took us where we wanted to go and guided us as needed. He is a lovely man and Peni, his wife, are excellent care takers and were responsive to our requests. Isoa arranged for us to go snorkeling on a magnificent day trip with an outfit on the island.
Being there in the heart of July, hence winter in the southern hemosphere, the windows were open all day/night and the ocean breeze was lovely. We enjoyed having the ceiling fans during the day but didn't miss them as we slept, after the power was turned off. knowing that we were not going to have power all night before we packed, we did bring along flashlights, but didn't really need them. We enjoyed the dark night sky, star gazing is the best I have ever seen. We put all our reading material on tablets, so we could read as long as we wanted.
The path down the hill is a bit steep, but we didn't have any trouble and found it in fact charming, and loved the kayaks waiting for us down on the beach to enjoy.
The pool is small but nice to take a dip in, cool off and relax around.
I will caution those considering a vacation on Taveuni to be clear about the food choices. There is not a wide range of food options and few places to eat. We did have some fantastic meals on Taveuni, we ate well and enjoyed learning about the local food, traditional meals and Peni and Isoa made us a wonderful Lovo Feast one night.
Know that the plane over from the main island to Taveuni may not be able to bring all your lugage at once, the plane is small, weight limits are the concern. so carry on the plane enough clothes/nessesary items for the first 24 hours. Your things will catch up to you and Isoa is very diligent about going to the airport to collect your lugage as it comes in.
It is also a good idea if you are considering a Taveuni vacation to stop at the duty free shop on the way thru the air port to get whatever wine or spirits you might want. Don't worry about beer, Just ask for Fiji Gold, We loved it.
We look forward/plan on returning to Taveuni and staying at Ucuilagi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: can't think of a thing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardHil...
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so happy”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed here and the house is excellent and the view spectacular. We do have some issues though. The power goes off at night about which we were not informed until arrival, thus ceiling fans and mosquito zappers (much needed) do not work. The torches in the cupboards had no batteries and despite telling the resident caretaker nothing at all was done. Isoa the caretaker kindly arranged to take my wife and daughter snorkeling and I chose not to go, it was a rainy day and none of us were 'keen'. He used a 'mates' boat which had broken seats and clearly was not in survey. I did go along as Isoa urged and tried my hand a fly casting from the island. The snorkeling was very average and Isoa stayed on the land with me eating a coconut. He asked us for $45 a head and when i demurred reduced it to $40, I paid reluctantly. This was a blatant rip off. he offered to take me fishing in this same boat for $250 a day, I declined

The worst aspect is this. The house is very elevated and thus the views are wonderful. To get to the road and a local restaurant you have to descend perhaps 150 feet. Isoa showed us a steep grass track to get down, no rope or hand rail at all. On the 3 rd day there whilst descending that track my wife slipped and badly spained her ankle and was unable to walk or swim for the remaining days

I related all of this to the agent Anne Osborne on my return. I was disappointed in her responses. She tells me that the path is not on the property and we should not have used it, this was at no time told to us by Isoa the caretaker, he in fact showed us the path and said it was the way down. She told me that as the house was screened we did not need zappers!!! That the power is expensive to maintain in the evening because of the generator fuel. Well I guess that is known as overhead if you are running a business

It is a pity that a bit more care is not taken as more care and perhaps $15,000 on solar panels would make this place a better bet. the path issue though is truly outrageous, a death or serious injury could have occurred.

M

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the situation and view
Liked least: as above
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2013
As part owners of Ucuilagi my wife and I are currently staying in the house on a regular maintenance visit. On checking things out I feel that some of Mr Hilton's comments are fair. Firstly, the track: Having owned the house for 25 years and used the track so often it has taken fresh eyes and sadly a fall to make us take a more critical look at it. We will install safety ropes on the steepest part of the track and upgrade the walking surface. We will also post a notice in the house detailing the possible hazards of the track. Our Manager will draw this to guests attention. Nonetheless we do not wish to discourage use of the track as it is a scenic shortcut to the beach and restaurant , it is used every day, has been used by hundreds and hundreds of people. An 84 year old made it up a few weeks ago although she stopped for a breather. Once again we ars sorry about the injury, I would have complained too.

The power: There is information regarding Ucuilagi on a number of websites, some, Flipkey included, mention that the power goes off after 10.30 ish but I see that not all sites include this info. We will ensure that all sites cover this. The in house information also mentions that the genset can run all night for an additional $35.00. Very few guests take this option. I note Mr Hilton's comments regarding solar. A full solar system is our next priority for capital expenditure. We had planned to install it this year but two new bathrooms , the outdoor shower, a new gas stove and two new fridge freezers were a greater priority. These are now all complete and installed. The house does however have 12v battery powered strip lights in every room and bathrooms. These are available all night and are more than adequate for for getting around the house at 2am.

The boat trip: Our Manager should not have arranged that boat for our guests. No seats!! That's terrible. Our house info mentions a number of available snorkelling diving and fishing trips. For future guests we will identify those which are conducted in surveyed vessels with licensed skippers. Sadly these are the most expensive options and we cannot stop guests from looking for cheaper options. We urge that guests doing this take a critical look at the boat concerned and its gear before hiring.

We are also concerned that our Taveuni agent did not address our guests concerns. We will discuss these matters with her.

Past and potential future guestes are welcome to contact us re these and other matters, my wife's cell number is on our website or send us an e mail. Cheers, Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papabearb...
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The first and best stop on our three month family journey”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We enjoyed a 10-day visit at Ucuilagi last November and can't wait to go back. The main house is perfect for a family of 5. It is just an incredible house on an incredible piece of property with everything you need to really relax and enjoy some time on Taveuni.
Sleeping - The beds were fine with nice bedding in a wonderful breezy setting. The master bedroom is located at one end of the house while the kids room is at the other, giving parents some nice privacy. The guesthouse holds another 4 or 5 sleepers with a separate bath. we didn't use it but it looked nice and would be great if two families were traveling together. You could use the guesthouse as a bunkhouse for the kids or put one family in there.
Kitchen - This was well equipped if you want to do your own cooking or it is easy to get food delivered from a couple sources. Food on Taveuni is moderately expensive and the restaurant selections are of little interest so cooking or ordering in work best. This house is very comfortable for either.
Outside - The deck and yard are fantastic and the splash pool is a nice addition. Its not a huge pool but being able to sit in the water looking over the expansive view is unbeatable while the kids had no problem enjoying themselves in the water. There's plenty of seating on the deck with both a large lounge table area and an outdoor dining table, partly covered and partly open to the sun. Fruit plants and trees abound on the property.
Caretakers / Host -- From the minute they met us at the airport, our hosts made this place extra special as they served as tour guides, agenta driver and stockpile of local information. They also will keep the fruit bowl full with fresh and delicious produce from the yard. A friend of the owner, Bob Goddess also served as a host and helped us find many of the best things the island has to offer, including great scuba training at Jewel Bubble and outings to Wiwi village and Qamea island.
Pets -- yes, this house even came with built in pets. Steve the dog and a cat (cats apparently don't merit names in Fiji) were available as needed. They might get a little pesty if you are not in the mood to share the place but this is the tropics where you are lucky if the only creatures visiting your home are domesticated animals.
Note that overall the structure is an older home with little quirks and the wear and tear you would expect for a sunbaked, windswept property but everything was in working order, clean and of good quality. If you like the latest and greatest and don't appreciate the charm of a unique, well-built and well-cared for older beach home, then this might not be for you. In that case, I'm not sure there are any great options for you on Taveuni as this is not a spot to find the latest and greatest in vacation travel with super duper amenities. It is ultimately a spot to find a really grounded and authenticate way to escape life for a while and really rub elbows with natives and some other more adventurous travelers. We felt Ucuilagi embodied the true spirit of Taveuni and put us in the driver's seat to take advantage of everything this amazing island has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and our hosts
Liked least: We had no complaints
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$360
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing