We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
16
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent hosts living room main island rainbow reef fish paul heli sail taka pinni kite atolls zooming gourmet comfort villa adventure
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 16 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Where to begin, In the days after Wintston we found ourselves a little shaken and seeking comfort. My Mum, myself and my two kids (5 and 3) were put in touch with Paul and Heli. Paul picked us up from Bucca Bay for a very pleasant afternoon sail to Tavenui. The Villa looks just like the pictures, and being fully solar we had hot showers, great music, lights and fans, while the rest of the island was without power.

We were greeted with open arms by Heli and Pinni, with welcome drinks and fresh warm cupcakes. Everyone at the Villa works very hard to make your stay one of comfort and enjoyment

Heli is an incredible chef, the taste and presentation of all the meals blew us away. Using whole, locally sourced ingredients each meal had incredible flavour and left you feeling incredibly satisfied. On day 2, my kids declared Heli's scrambled eggs "the best thing they have ever eaten".

It was my daughters 3rd birthday while we were there, and she was treated to an incredible birthday party on the beach completed with a multi teared birthday cake and local kids for an afternoon of eating and playing on the incredible beach just a short walk from the Villa.

We couldn't have asked for kinder hosts, they welcomed us into their Villa and left us with memories we will never forget. They went above and beyond welcoming my kids, arranging trips to the waterfall, and waterslide, and touring us around town. They knew just when to make suggestions, and when to leave us to make our own plans. The pool has incredible views and the stars at night is something everyone should experience. The kiddos sobbed most of the flight back to Nadi as they just didn't want to leave. I can't wait to return to spend more time in the water and maybe even learning how to kite surf!

Thank you everyone at Vacala Bay Resort for the incredible week and memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Katreena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N, VR Owner at Vacala Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Thank you Kat for the wonderful review and it was an absolute pleasure for us to have you and your lovely family stay with us at Vacala Bay Resort. We miss the kiddies very much already and their morning smiles will last forever in our hearts! We look forward to hosting you again soon and will be sending fair winds and stunning sunsets to you and the family throughout the year from Fiji's Fabulous Far North!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We had a pleasure to spend a week with Paul and his lovely spouse Helen in their modern villa on Taveuni island.
Villa is build in elevated position and has complete privacy and fantastic views over the bay and remote islands. It is modern with ground to ceiling windows allowing you to observe the magical stary nights and early morning sunrises directly from your comfortable bed. It has good layout for 2 couples or family to stay with lot of designer touches everywhere around the house - bar and kitchen worktop with crushed pearl shells, infinity and plunge pool, outdoor bathroom with two showers and modern bath, etc. Owners took pride in decorating the house with lot of beautiful local flowers - which are considered weed in Fiji :-).
In terms of hospitality Paul and Heli pride themselves and enjoy cooking for the guests and I still remember all the fantastic meals they prepared for us - most memorable was Italian lobster risotto prepared by Paul and selection of 6-7 amazing warm starters that Heli was able to prepare out of nowhere in 40 minutes when we went sailing one day.
Place is ideally located to enjoy everything that Taveuni has to offer and it is also conveniently close to the airport (as there are only two prop planes coming to the island every day there is no noise on the island). There is plenty you can do on the island - explore the beautiful walks in Bauma Natinal park where you can go skinny dipping in the waterfall lakes, horseback riding into the Fijian mountains with locals, snorkelling in the marine park where locals do not go fishing anymore and you can see a lot of larger fish as well, close by is also a diving school regularly going to top 10 world class white coral diving spot, manta ray sanctuary is also only a short sail away (on catamaran that Paul owns as well), explore local villages or enjoy cava ceremony with some food cooked in the ground (Polynesian or Fijian style), trek to the top of mountain and get lost in a proper jungle where very very few people go and where you can see rain forest as it is supposed to be, slide down the the 200 meter long natural water slide... and also jump across the timeline so you can have today and yesterday (or tomorrow) in 10 minutes 30 times or more. And I also should not forget the main reason I personally come for - there is a world class shallow water kiting lagood just around the corner. Magical spot that I was able to have just for myself and Paul who is also IKO certified teacher. This is indeed very special and green place and very different from Fiji on Viti Levu - main island. It is set back and green place where you can enjoy true Fiji in comfort of modern hospitality. And yes there is a free WiFi in the villa as well ))).

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank JvonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N, VR Owner at Vacala Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

It was absolutely our pleasure Juraj! We very much look forward to seeing you again once the winter winds start blowing in earnest! With warm regards,

Paul and Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Paul & Helena at Vacala Bay resort are wonderful hosts, full of local knowledge that can accommodate wonderful island activities. Food provided was above expectations, a mix of western and local meals, they even catered for my vegetarian/ coeliac Husband & Daughter... Then my very very hungry 17yr old son! Taveuni is a beautiful Island to discover, locals are friendly and accomadating. We Sailed, Kited, Hiked, Slid & loved all those fresh water river swims.

  • Stayed: January 2016
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mummaplumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N, VR Owner at Vacala Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

it was such a pleasure entertaining your lovely family and all the laughter and fun that entailed! We enjoyed having you very much and hope to see you again once Melbourne starts to cool down and the family kiting itch needs a scratch!

With warm regards,

Paul & Heli

....and Happy belated Australia Day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC