We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just as we remembered”
other travellers have booked this property
Character stone cottage overlooking beautiful Usk valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Character stone cottage overlooking beautiful Usk valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Character stone cottage overlooking beautiful Usk valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Coed-Y-Paen, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Ellen C
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just as we remembered”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Second stay here, we first went at the same time last year. It's so great because it's fully furnished even with bits you might need in the kitchen. It's a fab location, not far off the M4 with loads of great walks near by. We'll be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandP1664
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic Monmouthshire Getaway”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We booked a weekend away in January and found ourselves rainbound in this beautiful cottage - no matter, the cottage itself is so comfy, clean, cosy and inviting that we had just the perfect time curled up in front of the log burner with the odd trip to the Jacuzzi thrown in. Janet and Mike gave us a warm welcome and the home made cookies were just the thing. They were never intrusive but always helpful and friendly. The Jacuzzi had great views of the valley (when we could see past the rain!) and Mike is a fantastic instructor for those wishing to have a go at clay pigeon shooting. We have never wanted to go back to somewhere so much before. 100% recommendation from us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: Janet and Mike
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just come back from the cottage for the 2nd time this year and what can I say.......... Truly excellent! Both of us and the dog didn't want to come home! We tried the clay pigeon shooting this time which was brilliant! the log burner is awesome, went through a small forestry of wood with the log burner at no extra cost. And the hot tub is magnificent! Owners are fabulous, highly recommend! Will be going back again early next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonscr...
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing, simply beautiful”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What a lovely cottage, before we arrived Janet sent a message explaining how to get there and what to do upon check in. Mike is also on had to give directions if you get lost as can be tricky to find.

As soon as we got to the top of the driveway and saw this little gem i fell in love.

The cottage is so cosy, fire was already lit for us so was nice and warm inside. Homemade cookie for us on the table too.

The hot tub outside is amazing (mike goes through everything with you before you use it too). Great views from there and the garden.

Wish i could of stayed for longer as so peaceful there.

Will be returning again to this little gem, great owners too they are both happy to help in anyway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabin_fev...
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pastoral Perfection”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

It takes a bit of effort and a good navigator to find the cottage from the M4, but as you get out of the car at the top of the drive, you REALLY hope you’re in the right place. There are spectacular views in all directions. It only gets better as you climb the rise through the garden, to laze in the hot tub in the afternoon. If the weather cooperates you will be treated to a stunning sunset.

This cottage is hugely cozy, especially with a fire blazing in the wood stove. The kitchen and bath are well-appointed, and the beds comfy. It feels as if you are all alone on a private estate yet the owners are right next door, unseen down the hill, should you need anything. The only sounds are birds, and the wind.

The owners could not be more accommodating as hosts. On our arrival evening, because the nearby Carpenter’s Arms was closed, Mike took us into Cwmbran to shop at the grocery. When we found out that we had missed their closing time by half an hour, he left us there to have dinner, and then came back to retrieve us. That level of kindness and service is amazing, and very much appreciated. It’s more than five stars.

And did I mention the hot tub?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. Better than advertised
Liked least: Not having GPS in the rental car.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing